We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Sense of Realism & Calm In A Crazy World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Ventnor City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Sense of Realism & Calm In A Crazy World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My husband & I discovered The Carisbrooke Inn a few years ago. This was the second time we have gone back. I am thrilled to say nothing has changed in regard to this wonderful, charming place at the shore.
Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a warm inviting accommodating staff. A fresh fruit patter was laid out with a wonderful array of cheeses and light fare along with drinks and lively talk from other guests; who were interesting, friendly, polite and like minded.
Our room "Morning Mist" was not in the main house but directly across the street in the Oceanside Cottage portion of The Carisbrooke Inn. The room was perfect for our three night stay. An efficiency which featured a kitchen area, full oven, refrigerator, microwave, utensils, dishes, cookware, (all of which were immaculate) and a flat screen TV. The bed was extremely comfortable as was the bedding, pillows and linen. In the morning (after signing the list the evening before for the time you would like your breakfast) the staff serves you a most delicious and hearty breakfast. They know everyone by name and are genuinely happy to see you, serve you and help in anyway to make your stay there more comfortable. There is also a self serve table with cereals, fruit, juice and coffee if that is your style and do not want a full breakfast. I could not imagine why anyone would not want the brilliant blueberry pancakes or waffles! After breakfast a walk in the quaint town of Ventnor is always a good choice as is bicycling up or down the Boardwalk to Atlantic City or south to Margate or Longport (two other adorable, friendly, clean towns) The afternoons at the beach are marvelous. The Carisbrooke Inn provides their guests with beach tags, umbrellas, beach chairs and towels and has a nice strong shower in the back of the Inn so that after coming back from the fabulous beach, you can clean off before going to your room. After showering off the days fun at the beach and a bit of relaxing, you can mosey down to the beautiful parlor of The Carisbrooke Inn. There you will find delicious hot and cold snacks, drinks and good conversation to be had. The staff is always a minute away if there is anything you might need and more importantly eager to help and fulfill your requests. No attitude involved. A very pleasant and calm atmosphere here.
I can't say enough good things about our stay and The Carisbrooke Inn. We will surely be back and have taken with us terrific memories of a lovely place and time.

Room Tip: The web-site can show which of the rooms will suit you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbeat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorer723, Owner at Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your room in our new cottage building. We hope you will come back again to see the changes and upgrades as we continue to improve and renovate the cottage, just as we did the main building the past 8 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    87
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
260
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Carisbrooke Inn is a great, convenient place if you are looking for a few days at the shore. We booked just a few days before arrival, so the only room available was the "sea breeze" room, which is the smallest room in the annex across the street from the main house. Despite the room's tiny size, there were 5 (new) windows, including one in the (really tiny but clean) bathroom. Yes, as the other reviewer mentioned, you could see the ocean from our window. So you do get a lot of light in the room and you can really see the waves crashing on the beach. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. There is a flat-screen TV, free Wifi, a nice-sized dresser with six drawers, and a window air conditioner in the room. The breakfast was very good, and the staff is friendly. The Carisbrook is about a quick minute's walk to the beach & there is a very nice boardwalk, too. This b&b provides towels, beach tags, and chairs -- as well as a new outdoor shower. They offer snacks in the early evening in the main house - a nice touch! Fro dinner, we walked around the corner to a fabulous restaurant, Sage. You can easily walk along the boardwalk to Atlantic City, (and you really don't need your car if you don't want to drive). You can also rent bikes in the a.m. and go for a ride on the boardwalk. FYI - If you are not familiar with the area, keep in mind Ventnor definitely has a "city" feel to it, and it's not really a quiet beach town in places.

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions, as all the rooms are different in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeFrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Carisbrooke Inn. Because we booked at the last minute, we got a great rate on the smallest room in the annex. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. In addition, we could see the ocean from our window. The main building is lovely and we visited the rooms there which are more luxurious. The breakfast was great, staff friendly, and it took us less than a minute to walk to the beach. We very much appreciated the towels, beach tags, and chairs which were provided as well as the clean and convenient outdoor shower. At night, we walked around the corner for dinner at one of the best restaurants at the shore, Sage. Then we walked down the street from the Inn to the boardwalk and strolled to Atlantic City, never needing to use our car. We would highly recommend the Inn and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Try dinner at Sage which is around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucytowerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I "discovered" the Carisbrooke Inn several years ago and my husband and I loved it so much this was our third trip there!!!! The location is perfect.......you are right next to the beach and you can enjoy a quiet, relaxing vacation right there at the B&B....OR you can walk about a mile and enjoy the "hustle and bustle" of Atlantic City!! It's like two vacations in one! The breakfast is out of this world, the beds are "heavenly", the service is wonderful....my list could go on and on. This time we were in a spa room - which was gorgeous! The only thing that surprised me this visit was that one of our towels had some makeup on it! I put it on the floor so we wouldn't use it but forgot to inform John. I would recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireFEdison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed across the street from the main Inn. at the Oceanside Cottage. It was fine. Rooms were on the small side, but I expected that. The galley kitchen in our two room suite was not the greatest: no microwave and no dishes, The staff was wonderfully accommodating, both when booking the reservation and whenever we needed anything during our three day stay; and breakfast was great. They had beach chairs for us to use and tons of info on other things to do in the area. Location was a mere 100 feet from the boardwalk! I'd definitely go back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lagvillegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We've stayed at the Carisbrooke several times and have actually stayed in 5 of their rooms. While some are larger, each room is clean, comfortable and has a different look to it. What is the same is the service. The staff members are all very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast is great! We like the location because the beach is just a block away and the boardwalk is convenient to the activity of Atlantic City as well as the neighborhoods of Ventnor. Great restaurants are in walking distance too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newvision408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before.......only 4 and 5 star luxury hotels. I can't tell you how much we loved our 2 night week-end stay at The Carisbrooke Inn. All of the staff is extremely friendly and very accomodating. The rooms are very clean and oh my gosh.......the view of the ocean was great. Breakfast was yummy and there are cookies, fruit, and bottled water available at all times. They also have beach chairs and umbrellas and beach tags. My husband and I will definitely be returning. Oh they also just opened the Oceanside Cottage right across the street with more rooms just as nice and a little less expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazelg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor City
2.1 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,624 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#18 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,994 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#9 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,550 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,071 reviews
3.2 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 105 S Little Rock Ave, Ventnor City, NJ 08406-2840
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ventnor City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carisbrooke Inn offers a blend of classic luxury accompanied by modern amenities. The Inn is nestled in the historic town of Ventnor, one mile from the action in Atlantic City and a few steps from the beach and boardwalk. After sleeping in one of the luxurious guestrooms, you will awaken to a freshly prepared gourmet breakfast. Other amenities: Wireless Internet, Large Flat HDTV, DVD, Evening Social Hour, Luxury Beds, Business Services, Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carisbrooke Inn b&b
Carisbrooke Hotel Ventnor City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing