We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great good, friendly service”
Review of Tinga Taqueria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tinga Taqueria
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great good, friendly service”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Food is fresh and not heavy with sauces and cheese. Love the Tinga Burrito with avocado. It's a BYOB restaurant. They have really tasty frozen drinks that you can add your own tequila to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drgnldy505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Consistently good, reasonably-priced basic mexican fare in a casual setting served by friendly and attentive wait-staff. The freshly made chips and salsa are addicting. Bring your own beer, wine or tequila (they will make you frozen drinks with it). Dine in (there is a lovely outdoor seating area) or call for take-out or delivery. It's become a local favorite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerseygirl1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kulpsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
205 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Finding authentic Mexican can be a real pain.
We loved this place. My wife had the mole dish with pork .. excellent.. on corn tortillas. The only way, and real way, to serve tacos.
The service was great and the staff bent over backwards to assist us
We'll be back again for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbitner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“OK - not great”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is ok - not great, not terrible. There is no liquor license. You can BYOB but for Mexican, that is always slightly disappointing for me as I am unlikely to bring a bottle of tequila into a restaurant and could have really gone for a margarita. The place is tiny. There is outdoor seating which is nice. The décor is not really Mexican. In a way, that's good because it's not cheesy but the place feels more Spanish than Mexican. The food is just ok. Lots of different kinds of tacos, burritos, quesadillas, sandwiches etc. to choose from but no entrees. The fish tacos were actually quite good. Nachos were terrible - pico, sour cream, and guacamole dumped all over the top - waaaayyy too much - that it made the whole dish soggy. My boyfriend has some enchilada dish that tasted dog-foodish. The service was excellent. I'd probably give this place another try but wouldn't jump at the opportunity to go and probably wouldn't recommend to someone else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkolodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
220 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We eat here a lot!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great friendly service, our favorite waiter knows our order without even asking us. Great place for as quick lunch or dinner. Food is always very good and you can't beat the great service and atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank aswierk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinga Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Tinga Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing