We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local favorite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tinga Taqueria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tinga Taqueria
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Consistently good, reasonably-priced basic mexican fare in a casual setting served by friendly and attentive wait-staff. The freshly made chips and salsa are addicting. Bring your own beer, wine or tequila (they will make you frozen drinks with it). Dine in (there is a lovely outdoor seating area) or call for take-out or delivery. It's become a local favorite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerseygirl1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kulpsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
203 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Finding authentic Mexican can be a real pain.
We loved this place. My wife had the mole dish with pork .. excellent.. on corn tortillas. The only way, and real way, to serve tacos.
The service was great and the staff bent over backwards to assist us
We'll be back again for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rbitner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK - not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is ok - not great, not terrible. There is no liquor license. You can BYOB but for Mexican, that is always slightly disappointing for me as I am unlikely to bring a bottle of tequila into a restaurant and could have really gone for a margarita. The place is tiny. There is outdoor seating which is nice. The décor is not really Mexican. In a way, that's good because it's not cheesy but the place feels more Spanish than Mexican. The food is just ok. Lots of different kinds of tacos, burritos, quesadillas, sandwiches etc. to choose from but no entrees. The fish tacos were actually quite good. Nachos were terrible - pico, sour cream, and guacamole dumped all over the top - waaaayyy too much - that it made the whole dish soggy. My boyfriend has some enchilada dish that tasted dog-foodish. The service was excellent. I'd probably give this place another try but wouldn't jump at the opportunity to go and probably wouldn't recommend to someone else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kkolodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
213 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We eat here a lot!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great friendly service, our favorite waiter knows our order without even asking us. Great place for as quick lunch or dinner. Food is always very good and you can't beat the great service and atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank aswierk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I love this place! It's really small, but delicious and authentic! i really enjoyed all of the food I got! rice and beans, quesadillas, chips and salsa, YUM!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephanie649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinga Taqueria also viewed

 
Upper Montclair, NJ
Upper Montclair, NJ
 

Been to Tinga Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing