We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent”

Las Chicas Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 5 Dessert in Union City
Cuisines: Argentinean
Restaurant details
West New York, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Chicas is inconsistent. The girls that work there are real nice, but the owner that's another story. The quality is lacking, they put specials but the pastries shrink in size, WHAT'S UP WITH THAT!!!!
Not my first choice for Argentinian pastries anymore.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Looking for a gem...found not a even a smile here.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Small and packed cafe..I decided to invite my girlfriend and try this place for breakfast...11 am weekday..Nobody cared about us when we came in and were looking at the big "sweet" diversity..I said: Good Morning, Hello, Could I have a menu? ( cause they have one in their website)...No menu here...How can I order?...She, the waiter, opened her eyes as big as she possible could and said: ALL YOU SEE HERE...Enough for us...They can have the best stuff in the area but no thank you...Not like that

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DamianPiedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Excellent uruguayan traditional food”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

These people are excellent at what they do.
Their "Sandwich Caliente Doble" is fantastic and conveniently priced.
I am going to be a regular customer from now on.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luisferramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“The places is too big to do a 30 people wedding cake”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Me and my future wife went today to ask how much a cake for 30 people they said the minimum was for 50 wow .Second we ask to speak with the baker they said the baker is too
busy ,that what I call customer service

  • Visited January 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozito035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
“milanesas are great meals!”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I tried the milanesas at Las Chicas Bakery and this thin breaded red meat meals are delicious!! Be aware it is more of a bakery with options of deli --such as these "milanesas"-- but the joint is always a to-go option, not to-stay, they have no space for tables and chairs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikarouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Chicas Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Las Chicas Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing