We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lox lox lox lox lox ...”
Review of Huck Finn Diner

Huck Finn Diner
Ranked #7 of 147 Restaurants in Union
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lox lox lox lox lox ...”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

What English teacher can resist a trip to the Huck Finn diner? She can't, especially when she can order a gigantic plate of lox, eggs, and American fries, studded with onions and red peppers. Also served at our table: outrageously large, fluffy pancakes stuffed with apples & cinnamon, and a proper eggs benedict with lox instead of Canadian bacon (What can I say? We're a lox bunch.) Prices were reasonable, service good, and a nice visit to a Jersey diner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huck Finn Diner”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I love the Huck Finn Diner. The food is exhalent and so is the service. I eat at the Huck Finn Diner a lot and have never been disappointed. The Huck Finn Diner is one of my most favorite place to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“This diner gets the job done, nothing memorable.Nice Service”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was taken aback by the broken sign out front. Once I entered ,the service was very good, and I made the best of a limited menu. Turned off by all the Wonder Bread toast I saw. I had decent oatmeal with a nice ,ripe banana for 3 dollars. Wish the menu offered more whole grain options. The BEST breakfast is at Raymond's in Montclair. The neighborhood probably isn't a Whole Foods type of clientele anyway!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fauxmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It's decent”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Huck FInn is your basic NJ diner. The truth is it isn't really special. It's good, but not great. (Great would be the Union Plaza Diner). We eat here once in a while if we've been to the Union Plaza too often. The decor is your basic diner, the menu is your basic diner (large menu, decent portions, nothing outstanding). The staff is friendly and gets your order right.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huck Finn Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing