We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back from the shore”

Union Plaza Diner & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 146 Restaurants in Union
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
iowa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“back from the shore”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stopped here on our way back from AC . This diner had a nice selection of offerings. It took a while to get through the menu as it was "pages" There were 3 of us and we ordered a variety of dishes. All meals were very good and none of us disappointed. Jersey Diner 's @ it best .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harvIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Solid diner”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Visited numerous times mostly for breakfast/lunch and some late night bites. Very consistent with a typically expansive menu. My wife especially likes the calf liver with sautéed onions. The consistency on food and service is what draws us back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So many choices all times of day or night”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great place to try anything you might like to eat. The menu has so many choices that you might not know where to start. From appetizers, to soups, to main courses you won't go wrong. Any time of the day or night you won't leave hungry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently reliable”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great place for a simple meal and excellent value. Most meals come with soup and salad. I love their matzo ball soup and their caesar salad is not bad either. My standby here is their beef gyro and eggplant parm with pasta. You just can't beat what you get for the money. Service is always good and they have a full bar. This is not a five star restaurant but it is definitely one of the best New Jersey diner around.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank theweekendernj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is NOT your average "diner", the food is amazing!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

There are a LOT of diners in NJ, but this one is one of the best. They have awesome food, seriously some of the best diner food I have ever eaten. I have a friend who waitressed here, and she told me that it was unlike any other diner in that they make everything fresh, and they have pretty good cooks in the back too. Their menu has some awesome delicious options, and the food is always really tasty. The service is great, and the decor is much nicer than your usual diner too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyC724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Plaza Diner & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Union Plaza Diner & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing