We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat Cut off the Skewer”
Review of Rio Rodizio

Rio Rodizio
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Rodizio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 146 Restaurants in Union
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 22 West
Transit: NJ Transit to Union Station
Description: Rio Rodizio is an “All-You-Can-Eat” dining experience like no other. Sit back, unwind and enjoy the truly unique Brazilian Steakhouse atmosphere where you will feast on a non-stop parade of freshly prepared food. The savory cuts of meat and poultry are brought to your table and carved tableside by authentic Gaucho chefs.To begin your experience Rio Rodizio has created an Ultimate Feast designed to please your hunger. Our lavish feast offers a wide variety of hot and cold dishes prepared fresh daily. The vibrant colors and arousing aromas of every platter will be sure to attract your senses. From fresh fruits and vegetables to tradtiional chicken salad, our selection of cold items will be prepared to please your taste buds. To make our feast especially unique, everyday a variety of sizzling hot dishes will be cooked to perfection. From seared tilapia to homemade lasagna, you can be sure there will be many options to keep you happy and satisfied. You may enjoy Rodizio & Ultimate Feast as much as you’d like, so take your time, relax and savor every bite.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
313 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Meat Cut off the Skewer”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The Rio Brazilian restaurant has interesting service and food presentation. There is a place card at each seat. One side informs the wait staff to continue to bring a variety of meats on a skewer. The other simple says STOP. The staff cuts the meat right off the skewer in front of you. The service is pretty cool. They have an excellent salad bar and drink bar as well. If you want something different, I would try it. Happy travels!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    23
    9
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Forget The Rodizio, That Salad Bar is ALL THAT”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you want good rodizio in the general vicinity, you really can't beat the places in Newark.Our visit to this Brazillian BBQ the meats seemed salty, and some were tough. Also, the extras that normally accompany rodizio just weren't as tasty and unique as one would expect (fried plantains, rice, beans, fries, etc).

However, that being said Rio 22 isn't getting a (4) rating based upon a negative review. Our next visit will definitely consist of getting an entree of the menu which will conveniently be taken To Go, and adding on the additional salad bar. It should probably be called a buffet rather than a salad bar.because the hot choices were excellent! Even salad options were impressive.

Clean place with decent service for an early Sunday afternoon. Would repeat!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank papichulito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place Great food”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

my fiance & I are regular's here. I also bring my coworkers friends & family here . We all love it!!! Sangria is to die for. Place is very nice & food is superb!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have been to this restaurant 3 times. The first time was good, second time was better and the third time made me never want to go back.

The last time the food was not good, they kept bringing the same meat over and over again with not a large selection for the rodizio. The service the last time that we went was even worse than the food, asked for a refill, never got it, asked again, still never got it. We all ordered cappucinos with dessert, they used sour milk and they were as disgusting as the food was.

The place itself is very nice but everything is too close together and hard to squeeze through.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyT711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food choices”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

For the first time trying Brizillian Resturant I was amazed at the salad bar and the food choices. The food was out of this world, the lighting was almost nonexistant to read the menus. Music was a little loud so we had to raise our volume to communicate and once we did we were able to enjoy our company and dinning experience. Would definitely return again....

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilverSurfer5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Rodizio also viewed

 

Been to Rio Rodizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing