We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clams”
Review of Allen's Clam Bar

Allen's Clam Bar
Ranked #7 of 46 Restaurants in Tuckerton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Absecon, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“clams”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A little place in the middle of nowhere. If you don't know about it you can easily pass it by. NO FRILLS--but one of the best kept secrets. For a great meal stop here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick, cheap, good”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place is very low key and casual. Portions are a little on the small side, but the prices are reasonable, so it works out. We had a large party with a short wait because they turn tables over quickly. Large parking lot in the back. Had the fried seafood platter - good, but nothing spectacular. Best parts were the fried flounder and fried clams.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILoveBacon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Sit outside, have clams & bring beer from across the street. Great Summer fun,

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentDinerEHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it. Lousy service and management.”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

I went with today with my wife, sister in law, her husband and their 2 kids around 4:30, before a dinner rush.
We were seated immediately and were able to order quickly. The good ended there.
2 of us ordered salads which came out quick. The steamed clams appetizer was at least 15-20 minutes later.
At least 10 minutes later, our waitress finally came by again to tell us there was a computer problem and our ticket was stuck in the machine and was missed.

Eventually our first dish was brought out but was wrong. We quickly informed the waitress that all out orders were broiled, not fried.
About 5 minutes later, all our proper orders were brought out. Except the first one, which was wrong again. Another quick correction and we were good to go. My sister in law saved her shrimp for last. Her first bite resulted in a burning sensation and a strong ammonia smell. We all took a whiff and agreed that it was a unique smell isolated to her shrimp, but it was there.
I asked to see the manager. We were told she wasn't there but at a second location. (we later learned that the other location was the house next door for a BBQ.)
The waitress told us the cook agreed to pull the item off our bill. We accepted this and proceeded to start packing up. The manager then showed up and we explained the smell, the bite and burning sensation. The manager harshly asked why my SIL ate them anyway, which we hadn't. We sent them all back with the waitress.
The manager then told us she would remove the item off our bill and asked about anything else. I mentioned that we were a little put off by the exceptionally long delay. She rudely told us that there would be no bill for us. She was very curt and unfriendly, acting like we are lying or criminals.

In all my dining history, in restaurants of all levels, anytime there is an issue with promptness, there is a manager on site who comes around and usually apologies for issues. Often an appetizer to tide the food delay.

Until the manager came by, we were ok to brush the whole thing off as a fluke and come again. The place has a history of being highly regarded. But now, I think we'll skip the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaka_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant Shore Seafood Restaurant!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have been going to Allen's for many years and by far the best "fried" lobster tail ever! All the seafood fresh and always a great lil drive to cozy casual atmosphere. THe crabcakes are scrumptious and prices very good too! Thanks for many years of of excellant seafood, and memories with my family and friends!
Truely, Angie DiMatteo

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen's Clam Bar also viewed

 

Been to Allen's Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing