We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My, A Real Tomato Pie”
Review of Pete's Steak House

Pete's Steak House
Ranked #13 of 258 Restaurants in Trenton
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Oh My, A Real Tomato Pie”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I will drive an hour each way for one of Pete's Tomato Pies. They are simply that good. I absolutely love the chunk Italian sausage tomato pie. The crust is thin and crisp, the sauce is sweet and classically Italian. They use just the right amount of cheese to make their pies the best in the area, and I have been to them all. If it's old school tomato pie you crave, then you gotta go to Pete's. The service is excellent, the beer is ice cold and you always feel like family there. They have huge sandwiches, boarded specials and the food is all prepared fresh. What else can I say?
"Godersi la vita, godendo di buon cibo." This is one of my favorite places to eat, and I am very particular about where I dine.

Mac

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank njBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Low-key and very busy”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We arrived about 6:30pm, although there wasn't a wait for a table, it took a very long time before we were greeted by our waitress, who was a little busy, but not overwhelmed. She seemed rather annoyed, and that just doesn't make for good service. An attitude adjustment might help.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tin_bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“trenton's old style family italian bar with great food, big portions, affordardable too.”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Pete's Steak House will not disappoint unless you are looking for she she. By that I mean you come here for really good food, huge quantities, easy to share- in a dark bar and grill with an old world Italian feeling. It's a mixed crowd from blue collar to blue BMWs. But is is not the least bit fancy or pretentious. Very down home and very good sandwiches and full entrees. Knows for their cheese steaks and every bit as good as Philadelphia cheese steaks. My whole family loves it and we go back time after time. If you come from the area you will always meet an Aunt or Uncle or second counsin in the mix. Pete's is a Trenton landmark and a family run business.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCRAPPYJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Amazing Food, Large Portions and Great Prices”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We live down the road and have been here many times. The food is amazing and inexpensive and the portions are HUGE!!! We have a 2 year old and have no problem bringing her. We often go with other familes and it is not too loud or too quiet for kids too.

Great place to go and would recommend to anyone!!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gthang736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian soul food!!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

You have to try the chicken Parma! They have very friendly, rlaxed service that will remind you of warm little family restaurants of old.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strawbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing