We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Food, Bad Service, and Bad Location Equals Not Going Back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Danube Restaurant

Blue Danube Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 256 Restaurants in Trenton
Cuisines: German, Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Bad Food, Bad Service, and Bad Location Equals Not Going Back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

After our Valentines Day meal at the Blue Danube and having read the previous glowing reviews of the restaurant, my wife and I left thinking, "Are there two Blue Danubes in Trenton???" Because the one we just visited was just a plain horrible dining experience.

Where to begin? Well I suppose it would be when we entered the place. There were three ladies sitting at the bar having a lively conversation. We stood for about 5 minutes at the entrance to the dining room when one of the ladies turned and said "Be with ya in a minute hun.....". And then went right back to her conversation with the other ladies. Yeah, that was the wait staff there.

And that pretty much represents the standard of service for the evening.

When we were finally seated it took 20 minutes before the same waitress returned to take our order............... and still no drinks. Food service was extremely slow. And the food that came out was really not good.

I lived in Budapest, Hungary for two years and traveled throughout Eastern Europe. Pierogies here were ok. Stuffed cabbage decent. My beef goulash was just horrible and tasteless. I seriously think the gravy was made with one of those store packets. My wife really wanted some of their seafood........ but supposedly the seafood delivery didnt arrive that day........ none available.

By the time we were finally finished with the meal nearly two hours later we were just relieved to get out of there. Oh, but only after another extended wait for the bill.

In summary, food was bland, flavorless, and not tasty. Service was virtually non-existent and grumpy.

This is not the hidden gem of Trenton as previously described. We're not returning.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hoyasaxa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
168 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Food is Terrific but Service Can Be Slow - But That Is Fine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

What a great find here in central NJ. The food is outstanding home style cooking at a great price. Service can sometimes be a bit slow and uninspired but that is fine since the food is so good and it ensures that you are not pushed through your meal. Blue Danube is really worth visiting!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb Eastern European Food in Trenton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Blue Danube offers a wonderful variety of Eastern European cuisine: Hungarian, Polish, Slovak, German, in a cozy setting, complete with full bar. Whether your taste runs to schnitzel, or chicken paprikash, or stuffed cabbage, kielbasi, or goulash, you'll find something delicious on this menu. They offer regional "nights" (Hungarian Night, Polish Night, etc.), but in my experience, they'll prepare any dish you ask for, any time. Of course their pierogis are wonderful, but then again, if you like this cuisine (and I love it!) you'll like everything that comes out of the kitchen. Top your dinner off with a glass of "Bull's Blood" wine, and you've got a taste treat that can't be duplicated within a considerable distance. I have been a regular, but not frequent, customer for years, and I always eagerly anticipate my next visit.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MorayJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing NJ
Level Contributor
178 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wow what a treat, right in Chambersburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

I am concerned that by writing this review, too many of you are going to go to Blue Danube and we will not be able to get a table. But I guess I am going to have to take my changes and share this great find!

We had the Sampler appitizer, the tast of Europe and the Chicken Paprikash, all were excellent! The atmosphere is a lot like Grandma's home (If she had a full bar).

There is old world charm here that you will never get in a chain restaurant. We can not wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Warm and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I just love the Blue Danube Restaurant. I reminds me of family run restaurants in Central Europe. The atmosphere is warm and pleasant, the service efficient, and the foodis absolutely delicious.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tin_bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Danube Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Blue Danube Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing