We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trenton
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“blah”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is tired and out of date and smells bad in the halls and rooms. It recently seems to have been dropped by Marriott and no wonder. The rooms are sort of clean, and the place is cheap. But the bed was horrible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOnyB123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. The hotel have been making changes and improvements will be made. Please allow us to service you again in the near future.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    59
    45
    65
See reviews for
70
30
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I went to this hotel with my teenage daughter and her friend directly off of the train from New York City.
The roads were impassable and we needed to stay overnight. I was given a great rate and welcomed by the very kind staff. The room was clean and had everything we needed.
I even used the exercise room the next day which was very nice. My daughter and her friend had breakfast in the restaurant, also very good.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rdfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is an old hotel in a great location - this is why it was choosen was for location. If it wasn't for the location wouldn't stay there again. It is tired and is desperately need up updating and cleaning

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. The hotel have been making changes and improvements will be made. Please allow us to service you again in the near future.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Gardens NY
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were in town to attend the swearing in ceremony of new attorneys which took place at the War Memorial (conveniently located next to the hotel.) Every person we dealt with at the hotel was nice, courteous and helpful. We got help bringing our bags up to the room. We asked for more towels and they came quickly. Requests for directions were met quickly with smiles and assistance. There isn't much to do near the hotel at night, and you wouldn't want to walk around so we just ate in the lounge/restaurant. They had pub style food which was perfectly fine, like you would get at a Chili's (for example) and reasonably priced. If you were hungry, the breakfast buffet was OK at $12; if you weren't, you could you buy a muffin and coffee at a "stand" next to the front desk. We got a room with two double beds. Although the bed was firm and comfortable, I've come to the conclusion that two people really need a queen sized bed to sleep well. There was a thermostat in the room but the temperature varied wildly--the difference between 67(too cold) and 68 degrees (sometimes too warm) was jarring. Perhaps the thermostat needed an adjustment. All in all, if I ever have reason to go to Trenton again on business, I would stay at the Lafayette Yard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here the last few years with the Trenton Marathon. We were told by the marathon planners that even though it was no longer a Marriott, it would be the same level of service.

Boy, were they wrong. Check in was the longest wait I've ever had, restaurant was horrible... almost like everyone who helped plan our stay wasn't there (new management team so maybe they aren't). Will definitely stay in Ewing or Hamilton next time I'm in the area, no matter who the host hotel is.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Quixote114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. The hotel have been making changes and improvements will be made. Please allow us to service you again in the near future and you will not be disappointed.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trenton hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here for the Trenton Doublecross Half Marathon and 10K race and I believe the hotel was at full capacity as a result of that event. Although it didn't appear that the staff was used to handling that high volume of guests for the most part they tried to make it work. The hotel itself was okay. Pretty clean and the staff was fairly friendly.

The parking wasn't an issue because although it $13 for overnight, there is a way that you can go in and out multiple times without having to pay the fee again and again.

The sleeping rooms definitely can use some updating but the beds were very comfortable and the bedding appeared clean. The beds were full instead of queen size, but I guess that as well as the location is what helps keep the room cost so affordable.

I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel because I was just in and out for the race, but I found it odd that as the advertised host hotel Lafayette Yard didn't offer complimentary late check out to the guests. Some of my companions told me that when they requested late checkout they were told that the courtsey could only be affored to 10 sleeping rooms on any given night. Weird. So basically, we were SOL.

I mean, the half marathon started at 8am and the course was open for approximately 3 and a half hours after that. The last finishers would really have to hustle to get back to the hotel, shower and change to make it out before the noon check out time. I requested late check out and I was still locked out when I returned to my room after the race. NO BUENO

If the relationship between this hotel and the race continues, the hotel should be more knowledgeable about this type of niche clientele and be prepared to be more accomodating regarding the needs of running racers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZPhiDivah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. The hotel have been making changes and improvements will be made. Please allow us to service you again in the near future.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

had a wonderful overnight stay. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Room was clean and very nice and bed was extremely comfortable. Restaurant staff and food was great. Just a totally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldr07960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
#1 of 3 in Lawrenceville
259 reviews
5.1 mi away
Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville
5.2 mi away
Element Ewing Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ewing Princeton South
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Oxford Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites

Property: Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites
Address: 1 W Lafayette St., Trenton, NJ 08608 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Trenton)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Trenton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites located in the downtown heart of Trenton welcomes you to a hospitality experience. Easily accessible from major routes, NJ-27, US-1, and I-295, the hotel is convenient for any traveler. Out of town? Not a problem. We are just a hop, skip and jump away from Newark International Airport and Philadelphia International Airport. Doing business in Trenton, Princeton and Bucks County, PA has never been so easy. Trenton, state capital, houses the NJ State House, NJ State Planetarium, Sun National Bank Center and Arm & Hammer Park (home of the Trenton Thunder), and lays off the beautiful Delaware River. Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites is within easy walking distance of all government buildings or in a drivable distance of 15 minutes to all of Trenton’s hot spots. Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites features exceptional amenities including 37” flat screen televisions, robust high speed Internet, a grab & go bar with Starbucks coffee, business center and fitness center. The hotel has a state of the art meeting and conference facilities. The on-property restaurant and lounge is ideal for an important lunch or dinner, or simply to unwind with delectable food and relaxed vibes. Whether you are bringing your family, your briefcase, or both, the Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites ensures your accommodation to be exceptional and stay extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenton Marriott At Lafayette Yard Hotel Trenton
Marriott Trenton
Marriott Lafayette Yard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing