We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly delightful...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Trenton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trenton
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly delightful...”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

had a wonderful overnight stay. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Room was clean and very nice and bed was extremely comfortable. Restaurant staff and food was great. Just a totally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldr07960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Trenton, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    58
    44
    60
See reviews for
68
29
19
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed just one night. The hotel is tired and needs TLC. I feel I paid too much $100 bucks and then got dinged to park $13. This might be a $100+ hotel in the future, but not now. I probably would have been happier at Motel 8 for $50 bucks.

Person who took care of me at the front desk was nice. Should have explained the parking price points to me. I could have paid less because I was leaving first thing in the morning... Actually, just include parking for free.........

I was born in Trenton and wish I could be more positive, but I can't.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULwithJUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Trenton, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. The hotel have been making changes and improvements will be made. Please allow us to service you again in the near future and you will not be disappointed.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

First class hotel, but...
Check in at night was professional but a little quirky. Room was spacious, Good a/c and quiet. Good Internet. Breakfast Buffet was cook to order, a nice touch. Parking was free. Room was well cleaned and provided with shampoo, soap, etc.

The area is okay in the day, not for walking around at night. No places to eat besides the hotel. The hotel finishes are worn. Not everything works.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CactusPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Trenton, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to say a few words about our hotel. A quirky desk clerk well as long as he was polite and helpful I guess I can live with quirky. The rooms are spacious and the hotel is often referred to as a nice stay and we are glad you found it to be that way as well. We look forward to your next visit to the area and hopefully another visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is "okay". The common area on the main floor smells like some kind of fruity cleaning product. The rooms are "alright" - dated and pretty clean but nothing spectacular. My ironing board was broken and would not stand up - I ironed by laying the board on the bed. Wifi was free - that's a plus. A couple of good little local restaurants nearby - a deli and Cafe Ole.
When we booked we thought we were staying at a Marriott, so we went in with Marriott expectations. If you book - don't think "Marriott" and maybe you will not be disappointed.

Biggest problem is unfriendly front desk staff. Grumpy staff make for grumpy guests. One employee literally SIGHED into the phone at me. Some customer service training would be helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriusGirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Trenton, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking a minute and reviewing our hotel. I am sorry if my team came across grumpy. I can assure you this is not the norm we pride ourselves on treating each guest with respect and professionalism. If we failed to meet your expectations in this area I apologize and I assure you the matter will be addressed at the hotel. I am glad you found the hotel suitable for your stay and we hope you give us an opportunity to show you our improved hospitality on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a pleasurable experience! The hotel was clean and smelled good. The staff was polite and went the extra mile for me on several occasions. The bed was very comfortable. There were several events scheduled, including a BBQ and comedy show. The BBQ was one of the best I have ever tasted.

It seems the new managment is doing a great job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Trenton, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to say a few words about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the events as well as the very tasty BBQ. I wish I could take credit for the BBQ but it was all homemade by the staff here at the hotel. They very pleased to hear you enjoyed it so much. As for the management staff we thank you for noticing our efforts. Nothing motivates us more then when a guest tells us we are doing well. We hope to you stop in and see us again on your next visit to Trenton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hello travelers, i am a current resident of Trenton, NJ. I just want to inform you of a couple things for your future stay. The Lafayette Court Yard formerly known as the Trenton Marriott is in the out skirts of Trenton, though Trenton's nasty reputation is valid, you can let your hair down somewhat in this neighborhood. Most of the violent community is within the heart of the city, but downtown Trenton where all of the stat buildings, and businesses are, are less-likely to encounter such ignorance. However beyond the borders Be very careful... Also it's not so bad around the Train station if you are a commuter. In my opinion to get the most bang for your buck, the best hotels are in Ewing NJ, such as the Mariott Springhills, or the Mariott Courtyard on scotch road. Also, the Comfort Inn or Red Roof on Route 1, in Lawrencville. I hope i was able to help some... Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quierra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Trenton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking a minute and writing about our hotel as a resident of Trenton we are thankful for your insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a work-related trip to Trenton, NJ, at the beginning of June, and we received our accommodation at the Trenton Marriott. When we told locals where we stayed, all we heard were apologies… but it wasn’t all that bad. To begin with, the place is way under the usual Marriott standards, but the rooms are nice, comfy and clean. The bathrooms were spotless and full of towels, although the shower was a bit too noisy. The staff were all friendly and around when needed, except the elderly lady at the front desk. All in all, the only two problems with the Trenton Marriott are the fact that they still charge you for Wifi Internet, while most budget hotels don’t, and that they’re located right next to a parking garage, where you have to pay to park your car, which is strongly suggested , based on the town’s nasty reputation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChioInga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Z, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Trenton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.”rooms are nice, comfy and clean. The bathrooms were spotless and full of towels, the staff were all friendly and around when needed” These are very kind words and we thank you for them. We are striving to exceed each guest expectations of the hotel and we hope we were able to accomplish that during your stay. We now offer free WIFI as you and other guest have suggested. We look forward to your next visit to our constantly evolving improving hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
6.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hamilton
Residence Inn Hamilton
#3 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ewing Princeton South
7.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Newtown
5.1 mi away
Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Trenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Trenton

Property: Wyndham Garden Trenton
Address: 1 W Lafayette St, Trenton, NJ 08608-2001 (Formerly Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Trenton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Trenton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites located in the downtown heart of Trenton welcomes you to a hospitality experience. Easily accessible from major routes, NJ-27, US-1, and I-295, the hotel is convenient for any traveler. Out of town? Not a problem. We are just a hop, skip and jump away from Newark International Airport and Philadelphia International Airport. Doing business in Trenton, Princeton and Bucks County, PA has never been so easy. Trenton, state capital, houses the NJ State House, NJ State Planetarium, Sun National Bank Center and Arm & Hammer Park (home of the Trenton Thunder), and lays off the beautiful Delaware River. Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites is within easy walking distance of all government buildings or in a drivable distance of 15 minutes to all of Trenton’s hot spots. Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites features exceptional amenities including 37” flat screen televisions, robust high speed Internet, a grab & go bar with Starbucks coffee, business center and fitness center. The hotel has a state of the art meeting and conference facilities. The on-property restaurant and lounge is ideal for an important lunch or dinner, or simply to unwind with delectable food and relaxed vibes. Whether you are bringing your family, your briefcase, or both, the Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites ensures your accommodation to be exceptional and stay extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Trenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenton Marriott At Lafayette Yard Hotel Trenton
Marriott Trenton
Marriott Lafayette Yard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing