We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and interesting”

Old Barracks Museum
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Trenton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In 1758, the Old Barracks was constructed to house British troops during the French and Indian War. During the Revolutionary War, the barracks was one of Washington's military hospitals. Today, the building is home to an interpretive museum, galleries, gift shop, and meeting space. Guided tours start on the hour from 10 AM - 4 PM.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Historic and interesting”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were shown around by a docent in period attire and we learned a great deal about the history of the area, the fighting, etc.

Helpful?
Thank Arline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    44
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Washington crossed the Delaware to get here”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A barracks built to house 300 British soldiers during the French & Indian War housed a Hessian garrison when GW made his perilous crossing on Christmas night, 1776. Less well-known is that it was an inoculation center against smallpox for the Continental Army afterward. You need a good interpretive staff to take you through three armies' occupation, and this museum has the best. Also has a great shop, with a range of Rev War books that is hard to beat. Closed Sundays.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cvb1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lover this place! Nice place to go to and feel as you are living history. Very good character actors playing roles of colonial time. A must on anyone's bucket list of NJ sights to visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great local historic attraction”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've brought my son here many times. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable about museum and the era in general. I've always got the impression they enjoy working/volunteering there which I feel makes a big difference. It's location to the planetarium makes it possible to just park the car and walk between the two. There is also a AAA discount at the Barracks

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shademann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable tour guides make this a gem”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This museum isn't big enough to spend a whole day in but it is well worth the trip. Take the tour, it is well worth it. The tour guides are very knowledgeable and I had a very inspiring discussion with one of the guides about the constitution and its amendments. I recommend this museum if you want to learn about the battle of Trenton, the French and Indian War and what life was like in early US history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cu8sfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Barracks Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Barracks Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing