We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in the area”
Review of Holiday Inn Totowa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Totowa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best value in the area”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Staff is very helpful and professional, rooms are updated and well worth the rate. The exterior and some hallways may look a little tired but the room was fine. Location is a little hard to get to (go through the parking lot of the shopping center). This was my 2nd stay and have reservations for my 3rd stay. Breakfast opens late for me (7 am) which was the only things I'd like to see changed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Dean A
Thank you for the great comment about our clean room and good serveice by our professional staff ,we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay . it is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests who stays at Holiday Inn Totowa NJ. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to serving you once again in your future stay
With regards
Mark M.
Guest Serveices Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    71
    58
    24
    27
See reviews for
59
38
13
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Spent three nights at this hotel as part of a tour group trip to New York. It was raining when we checked in and the staff was very efficient. They had our group room keys ready and delivered the luggage to our room. Rooms are clean and fairly spacious. Breakfast was set up special for our group. Several complained about the coffee and it consisted of eggs, cereal, pastries and juice-no meat. The hotel is a little challenging to get into. We did find out they have a shuttle to take you to a nearby shopping center, which was nice. The hotel is situated very close to the interstate so there is quite a bit of road noise.

Room Tip: You might ask for a room not facing the Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear patty s,
Thank you for your good review about Holiday inn Totowa NJ .and wonderful comment about our clean comfortable rooms and good serveice about our dedicated staff ,It is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests who stays at Holiday Inn Totowa. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. we will work on your feed back We also appreciate your business we look forward to serving you once again in the near future.

with regards

Mohan Maalepalli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a gr8 service !!!! wonderful staff !!! always been very helpful and friendly. Nice rooms for the prices being charged. Staying almost continuously from September 2013 till date, every week Monday to Friday and will continue to stay for another few coming months !!!! Very CLEAN, QUITE!!! Lot of parking places, Wide variety of good food including Continental Breakfast. Convenient timings !!!!
Excellent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Sanjay s,
Thank for your 5 star review about Holiday inn Totowa NJ .and wonderful comment about our clean comfortable rooms and good serveice about our dedicated staff and about our complimentary breakfast ,It is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests .. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. We also appreciate your business for continiously satying in our property we look forward to serving you once again in the near future.
with regards
Mark M GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

After just coming back from this hotel, about 3 days ago, .. I look back on the other reviews and wonder the ones that mark it "VERY GOOD" in the rating category were blind.

The Room was AWFUL. Good thing I brought my Lysol Wipes, because if it weren't for me wiping everything down, and the dust and filth that came up off the table, chair, desk, remote, night stand, and the whole bathroom, .. kinda made me question if that room was ever at all cleaned or inspected to make sure that it was. The towels in the bathroom at least smelled clean with a very obvious smell of bleach, but heads up, they need to replace all the towels in the hotel because they had a grayish tint to them from being cleaned soooo many times. They were also rough and like sandpaper. The bed was soft, so that may have been the only good part, but unfortunately I couldn't feel relaxed due to the stains on the comforter - both beds, the linen and pillow cases didn't smell fresh or even clean, and there was hair on all the pillow cases. In order for me to even use one of the pillows, I placed my sweatshirt over it because I knew that my item was clean. I pulled the comforter down so it was no where near me, and bundled up as much as possible. And there were no other available rooms when asked to switch.

The hotel is located in a run down shopping plaza, and not very well lit parking lot. And good luck trying to find food if you don't go with the "Ruby Lounge" Menu. You have to get back on the main highway and drive for at least 15-20 minutes before finding a decent restaurant or something quick to eat. And lets now talk about the "Ruby Lounge" - its probably a local hangout, but not a place to be at if you are traveling alone. Many sketchy individuals hang out in there, so just beware. Even with that, "Complementary Drink" Coupon/Voucher , please choose wisely if you go in there if you are alone.

Another way for them to distract you from how awful the hotel is for the price/rate that you pay is the "Free Breakfast Voucher" -- when I checked out, I handed that right back, because after seeing how dirty the hotel room was, I wasn't taking any chances on what was being prepared for breakfast.

Please, rethink staying here, especially if you are an IHG member. This hotel does not live up to the Holiday Inn standards. They definitely need to renovate or close this location.

Room Tip: Do not book here. Find another hotel, very dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear S C,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your most recent visit . You are a valued guest and we truly appreciate your feedback. we apologize for the inconvenience .We have noted your concerns and have taken immediate corrective measures.once again thank you for your time and feed back.
With regards
Mohan M GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Totowa hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice hotel, kind of dated but nice for the price of rooms. Easy commute to go to/from NYC and has good food selections nearby. Wonderful staff! They have always been very friendly and helpful. The room service menu has a wide variety of good food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Taylor H,

We appreciate and thank you for staying at Holiday inn Totowa NJ and for your wonderful review about our Hotel location, clean rooms our friendly and helpful staff and the Restaurant .we do our best to keep the guest more valued and comfortable .we look forward to serve you for your next visit .

With regards
Mohan Maalepalli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Desk Helpful printing boarding passes, clean in spite of heavy guest traffic, seems a really popular place... And for good reason - Holiday Inn, Clean, quiet, serves one's basic needs in a hotel/motel... Even on Fri. And Sat. Nights found the rooms quiet. Yes, I'd stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear RobertS
Thank you for the great comment about our clean room and good serveice,we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay . it is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests who stays at Holiday Inn Totowa NJ. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to serving you once again in the near furture
With regards
Mohan Maalepalli GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are standard ones, they will certainly have to be refreshed one day. Unfortunately no king size beds were available when i went there. This was the only point. The location of the Holiday Inn is good. Rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is for free and from good quality. I recommend and hope to be back one day in beautiful New Jersey

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travelling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear TravellingT,
Thank you for your good comment about our clean room and good service and breakfast, it is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests who stays at our Hotel. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. Your feed back is very important we will work on your feedback immediately we hope in serving you once again in the near future.
with regards.
Mohan Maalepalli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totowa
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in West Orange
526 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Totowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Totowa

Property: Holiday Inn Totowa
Address: 1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Totowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Totowa 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story property with interior hallways. Suburban location. Refrigerator, coffee makers, moveable desk/swivel chair in each room. Doc's Bar & Grill with satellite sports coverage, dj, Chinese restaurant on property. Indoor and outdoor free parking. Banquet and meeting rooms from 10-300. High speed wireless internet access,video games, health club, complimentary newspaper, breakfast , and beverage Monday through Friday. Close to Montclair State, William Paterson, Meadowlands Sports Complex, ABB, Hoffman La Roche, and Willowbrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Totowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Totowa Hotel Totowa
Totowa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing