We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unexpected Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Totowa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Totowa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After experiencing car trouble on the Garden State parkway we had to find a convenient hotel at the last minute. This Holiday Inn was everything we could hope for ! Dan at the front desk was welcoming, friendly and attentive to all of our needs. He supplied all the items one might need for an unexpected stay. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. We even were given a discount on the room rate and treated to a complimentary drink next door at the Ruby Lounge. We are very grateful for the way we were treated !

Room Tip: The third floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuesdaylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly thank you for selecting our hotel, The Holiday Inn, Totowa, NJ after having experienced a long day with your car troubles. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our hotel staff and room accommodations. We are delighted we were able to add enjoyment after your long day. One of our main missions is to provide the utmost comfort and customer service for our guests, and allow them to feel they are "at home". We truly value your stay and we value you as our guest. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    64
    56
    20
    25
See reviews for
53
35
11
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

In spite of a musty smell on the 4th floor in the hallways, the room itself wasn't bad. It seemed clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The entire property, though, seems tired and in need of some renovation.
I didn't have my computer with me, so I tried to use the computers in the lobby. These computers seemed like they came from a yard sale somewhere; they were slow and I couldn't access my Verizon email account - in other words, were useless.
The attached restaurant - The Ruby Lounge - was more like flea market sea glass than a Ruby. The bar tender was slow like he was on Hawaiian time. I ordered a sandwich and 35 minutes later still hadn't seen it. The bartender gave me a free drink to shut me up and then, after a 45 minute wait my sandwich arrived. 45 minutes for someone to make a sandwich.
The next morning they offered a free breakfast buffet in the Ruby Lounge. The operative word here was 'free' because this poor excuse for breakfast wasn't worth any more than that.
I never stayed here before, so I thought I'd try it. I'm not likely to be back, there are too many other choices within 5-10 miles.

Room Tip: Pick a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHarv_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear BHarv_13,

Thank you for your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn, Totowa, Nj. We definitley appreciate your feedback from your last stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your hotel room accommodations. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your last stay. Your input is extremely valuable to us, and we will definitely address and take your concerns into consideration.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent last weekend at the Holiday Inn Totowa and was very impressed with the service and cleanliness of the hotel. We were travelling with a group of 30 students and 5 adults. The rooms were ready when we arrived and were all located together which we really appreciated.
The rooms were very clean and well kept.
The breakfast that was included was good and the service excellent.
The hotel manager was helpful and friendly.
Great location in regards to visiting NYC.
This was our second time here and would stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor an easy walk up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123gottatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your most recent visit to our facility, The Holiday Inn Totowa, NJ. We are pleased to hear that you and your student group were happy with our hotel rooms, staff and customer service, and breakfast accommodations. Your feedback is valuable to us and you are most certainly a valued guest, and it was an honor to serve your group. We look forward to your future stays at our hotel with your group.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evian
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were here for four days visiting friends who do not have guest accommodation in their small house. The Holiday Inn Totowa hotel was reasonably clean, well appointed, free WiFi and the breakfasts more than adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - staff will oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandSEvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear JandSEvian

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your most recent visit to The Holiday Inn Totowa, NJ. You are a valued guest and we truly appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay was comfortable, and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our amenities such as our complimentary guest wifi, and our breakfast services. We truly thank you and look forward to your future stays at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKAWAY, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed here many times and I love it! As a women traveling alone my safety is my top priority, I feel safe and very welcomed, I stay here and travel to NY because of the place, I dont mind the ride, the place is worth it. Latoya at the front desk was so pleasant and welcoming I want to steal here for my business! Dan "the man" was also very freindly, but the best was the manager Mohan, the bell hop was busy so Mohan carried my bags for me and even bought me up an extra tooth brush!. the room was clean the bed very comfortable. My only complaint is I dont like powder creamer I want real creamers in my room, but the complimantry coffee and breakfast made up for it. thanks Lucy

Room Tip: all the rooms i've stayed in were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Ms. Lucy,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our facility, The Holiday Inn Totowa, NJ. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. We are happy that our staff ranging from the management, front desk, and our housekeeping made your stay a memorable experience. We are also pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with your breakfast accommodations in our on-site restaurant. We are truly honored by your generous feedback as this allows our staff to continue providing quality service to our all of our guests. You are most certainly a valued guest and we look forward to your future stays with us!

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Horrible experience all around. Terrible staff. We were told one price over the phone and they didn't honor it when we got there and actually were very rude about it. If they had been apologetic, then I would have paid the price that they told us when we got there. Absolutely NO customer service at all. Save your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAMREALLYCOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Totowa,NJ. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. We have noted your concerns, and your feedback is important to us. You are a most valued guest, and we will see to it that these issues will not be repeated.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Totowa hotels

San Diego CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

But everything I touched at this place was either already busted, or fell apart when I touched it. First - the location is weird and difficult to get to. The road that was there to enter through the back was blocked off, and you need to go through the Petco parking lot to get to this place. When I got to my room, the heater was on the floor and busted. The armoire door fell off when I opened it. I changed rooms. Ruby's (the hotel bar) had a Swinger's Club on Sunday night, that was interesting. None of the soda machines worked except for the 2nd floor, the workout room was in the basement as an after-thought.

So this place is a two-star hotel acting like a three star. It's old, beat up, tired and the property needs a big time facelift. I was really glad to get out of there.

Why is this not a "terrible" review? The staff worked hard to make my stay as pleasant as possible. Thanks. But when you're in the middle of a broken property, not much you can do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloudripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Totowa,NJ. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your last stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback and guarantee you the issues that you have experienced will be rectified immediately. We assure you that your future stays will be much more comfortable.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totowa
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
#2 of 3 in Saddle Brook
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wayne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Totowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Totowa

Property: Holiday Inn Totowa
Address: 1 US Highway 46, Totowa, NJ 07512-2333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Totowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Totowa 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story property with interior hallways. Suburban location. Refrigerator, coffee makers, moveable desk/swivel chair in each room. Doc's Bar & Grill with satellite sports coverage, dj, Chinese restaurant on property. Indoor and outdoor free parking. Banquet and meeting rooms from 10-300. High speed wireless internet access,video games, health club, complimentary newspaper, breakfast , and beverage Monday through Friday. Close to Montclair State, William Paterson, Meadowlands Sports Complex, ABB, Hoffman La Roche, and Willowbrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Totowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Totowa Hotel Totowa
Totowa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing