We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great room at a super price for the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Totowa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Totowa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
nyc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great room at a super price for the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The rooms are actually nicer than the outside appearance of the hotel. The restaurant's name, the "Ruby Lounge" misleads you in thinking that the place is tacky. We actually though the restaurant was a strip joint when we first pulled in as it has blackout shades pulled down over the windows! All and all staff was great and efficient and we received a call from the front desk asking if all was ok. Will definitly stay here again . Big room, nice bedding, lots of pillows who could ask for more at $109 a night!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwnstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    70
    58
    21
    27
See reviews for
57
38
12
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This time I stayed here for four days, each have been storm related the staff is friendly respectfull and caring, they understand how upset everyone is, they greet everyone with smile and always ask if there is anything else they can do? an exceptional welcome. The staff were very professional and helpful I give them and A+, theroom are spacious and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was like home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Me and my fiancee have stayed here numerous times and have never been disappointed, friendly staff, spacious rooms, nice food. Room service is reasonably priced and the food is good! Would definitely recommend, I am booked to stay there November and December 2012!
I had booked an advanced purchase, no cancellation reservation and because I had to cancel one of the nights they waived all of the fees and gave me a full refund which they did not have to do as this was my mistake, I had booked one extra night that we didnt need. Only negative is the price is sometimes a little expensive, but not always!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Totowa, NJ in the aftermath of Hurrican Sandy. Many in New Jersey had to leave their homes because of a week or more without power or heat Lucky ones where able to find hotels in which to stay. This hotel was a great disappontment. The management acted as if no emergency was takling place. They were rude to guests and didn't make eye contact. They offered nothing to their displaced and stressed patrons to make their situation a little easier to handle. (Exceptions were Ms.Olivo at the front desk and the staff of the Ruby Lounge who were very helpful and friendly.) The rooms were not clean. Lower-priced hotels in the area went above and beyond to help their guests during this difficult time. It makes me very sad that the Holiday Inn did not step up when needed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Talimix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Totowa hotels

La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

If I could give the hotel a negative rating I would. The staff was incredibly rude and unhelpful. Our first morning at the hotel my boyfriend and I tried to order room service but the concierge wasn't sure if the hotel even offered room service. They transferred our call to the restaurant and the wait staff informed us they did in fact offer room service but the restaurant was too busy and we would have to wait at least an hour. So we decided just to go down the restaurant ourselves. When we arrived we saw that the restaurant was completely empty (except for us and the two waiters). We immediately ordered coffee (noting that we were in a hurry to get to a wedding - the whole reason we were at this horrible hotel in the first place) and our waiter disappeared. After ten minutes we complained to the other waiter that we still had not received our coffee. That waiter disappeared into the kitchen. We waited for 20 minutes and no one ever came back to give us our coffee or check on us so we were forced to leave.

Unfortunately, that was the best part of our experience at the Totowa Holiday Inn. The rooms seemed clean enough, but the beds were incredibly uncomfortable and the hotel was more expensive than nicer hotels in the area. Everyone on the staff was rude to us, and on top of all that, when I got my credit card bill I found that the hotel overcharged us. When I complained to the management they refused to deal with the issue and so I had to go to the corporate complaints department. Unfortunately the matter is still unresolved and I'm still out my almost $80. The experience was so horrible I don't think I will ever stay at another Holiday Inn. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Laura N,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

As other reviewers said, it is quite loud at night. The bathroom light could not be turned off so I had to leave the door closed. The hotel is very industrial looking. Latoya was very helpful in trying to get a taxi. The next morning, they tried calling for a cab several times and it never showed. It isn't real easy to get to and if you don't have a car, this isn't the place for you. Finally had to have someone from work come get me. I'll stay at a different hotel next time with shuttle service. It's clean which is the only thing it had going for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SR69StPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is located near many shops and restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, but not so clean. The sheets were stained and had blood on them, we thought housekeeping would change them but they just redid the beds with the same sheets. There was mold in the bathroom. A couple of lights were out in our room but the staff took care of it as soon as we called it in. The food was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Brenda V,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to read you found our location convenient and the rooms comfortable and spacious, however, it is disappointing to read that your stay was negatively affected by our housekeeping. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused you. I would like to assure you that we take each comment seriously as it has always been the goal of our hotel to deliver only the best quality services. Your feedback will be forwarded to the department involved to address your concerns.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totowa
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wayne
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Totowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Totowa

Property: Holiday Inn Totowa
Address: 1 US Highway 46, Totowa, NJ 07512-2333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Totowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Totowa 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story property with interior hallways. Suburban location. Refrigerator, coffee makers, moveable desk/swivel chair in each room. Doc's Bar & Grill with satellite sports coverage, dj, Chinese restaurant on property. Indoor and outdoor free parking. Banquet and meeting rooms from 10-300. High speed wireless internet access,video games, health club, complimentary newspaper, breakfast , and beverage Monday through Friday. Close to Montclair State, William Paterson, Meadowlands Sports Complex, ABB, Hoffman La Roche, and Willowbrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Totowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Totowa Hotel Totowa
Totowa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing