We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fealt like I was in Eastern Europe”
Review of Holiday Inn Totowa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Totowa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Reviewed January 29, 2012

And not a good part of eastern Europe. I travel for work a fair amount, and this was by far the worst hotel I've stayed in for quite some time.

The hotel was overall outdated. The room was dark, and uncomfortable. The bed squeaked every time I moved, waking me up throughout the night. The bathroom had broken tiles and light that would not turn off. The furniture was dusty, which wreaked havoc on my allergies all night. I could go on and on, but essentially, the room was overall uncomfortable and I couldn't get out of it soon enough.

And then the staff - below helpful. I asked for a good breakfast place, and they just said "there are a lot around". No effort to elaborate. They were, as a whole, a step shy of being completely rude.

AVOID

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed here for business last month and had a wonderful time, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable and provided all the necessary items, bath/, shampoo/conditioner, soap,,, Reception staff friendly and efficient I would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 526 on 5th FL is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank juan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The front door was broken upon arrival and stil broken the next day. The bar area has flies buzzing around your head. Breakfast was ok but the flies were still present as it shares space with the bar. The staff was friendly but not overly outgoing. Internet service worked well and the bed was very comfortable. Street noise from rte 47 was loud on the 5th floor

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdstets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at the holiday inn Totowa on dec 29 parts of good times adventure group, Check in was very easy and efficient.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. I was given a room on the fifth floor it was one of the cleanest that we had ever experienced and the bed was comfortable. They have free internet access, exercise room and room service. They provided us free shuttle to shopping mall (willbrook mall).
The breakfast was very good. We enjoyed our stay here.
It was a very good experience altogether and highly recommend and would gladly stay there again on our next visit

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank philip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I have been travelling over 10 years and holiday in is always been good experience.
This one was exceptionally good very satisfied with the services they have provided,especially Mark of Holiday In helped with any question I had,it was excelent.
I will be very happy to stay again on my trip to USA or any where else.
Thanks,
Tanvir Malik

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tanvir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here after a wedding. We were told the shuttle would be back for us in 5mins but we ended up waiting about 40 on a very cold night!

Our room on the 5th floor was large, clean and the beds comfortable but the walls were extra thin!

The hotel has a nightclub attached to it that is very loud. I would suggest if staying on the weekend make sure your not on the 2nd floor as were some of our friends!! VERY loud.

Front desk were very pleasant and the checkin was fast..

Room Tip: ask for rooms far away from the nightclub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestbaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

There were obnoxious, loud customers walking through the halls half the night while we were trying to sleep. Obviously no one found it necessary to put an end to it. People were smoking right outside the main entrance and it was blowing into the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen92128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totowa
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield
5.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wayne
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Totowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Totowa

Address: 1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Totowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Price Range: $117 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Totowa 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story property with interior hallways. Suburban location. Refrigerator, coffee makers, moveable desk/swivel chair in each room. Doc's Bar & Grill with satellite sports coverage, dj, Chinese restaurant on property. Indoor and outdoor free parking. Banquet and meeting rooms from 10-300. High speed wireless internet access,video games, health club, complimentary newspaper, breakfast , and beverage Monday through Friday. Close to Montclair State, William Paterson, Meadowlands Sports Complex, ABB, Hoffman La Roche, and Willowbrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Totowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Totowa Hotel Totowa
Totowa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing