We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome, but......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Toms River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Toms River
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome, but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the ramada while on business. The hotel itself was awesome. It was recently renovated. Bed was nice, everything was great until I went for dinner at the hotel lounge Angels.

The bar was very nice and clean like the rest of the hotel. The bartender was more interested in the pilots from the nearby military base. Everything on the menu... When I finally got service was overpriced. Kids meal... Hot dog and fries... 10.00?!

I tried to get a steak, filet / delmonico/ tbone... Sold out.

I next tried a order of French fries to pass the time... 10.00?!

I settled for a cheese steak, overly greasy and not the good for 13.00.

The hotel is great but the bar not so much. Overpriced and if your not a pilot forget about service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Ramada Toms River, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Charlie H,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Ramada Toms River. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations in our newly renovated guest rooms. We are very happy with the turnout, and we have been receiving a lot of great feedback. We do apologize that you were not completely satisfied with our on-site restaurant's service and food options. This is not typical of Angles as we usually receive great feedback. This has been addressed with management to ensure these issues do not occur in the future. Thank you again for your review, and we hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Ramada Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    262
    187
    132
    75
See reviews for
479
151
42
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were visiting family in the area, and I didn't want a long drive between family and the hotel, so the Ramada fit the bill nicely. From the AARP website, I was able to get a room for just under $100/night for two nights. We had stayed at this hotel years ago, and, at best, I thought the room was just ok. This time, I had a much better opinion.

There have been a lot of recent renovations. We had two double beds that were actually closer in size to queen beds. These were new beds with very comfortable (and VERY HIGH) mattresses. The bathroom had also been renovated, with an up-to-date shower/tub. The sink went from wall to wall, which left plenty of room for our toiletries.

While the bathroom floor was the conventional tile you would see in just about any hotel room, the bedroom floor was parquet. I'll admit it looked very classy, but I still prefer carpet on the floor. There was a small carpet between the two beds.

I think they've also added some soundproofing. I don't recall hearing any noise from the adjoining rooms or hallway. I could hear just a little noise from outside--our room was facing NJ Route 70--but the noise wasn't enough to bother you.

Finally, they updated the ventilation system. You could quickly raise or lower the room temperature. I did think the system was a bit noisy, and there was no fan speed selector.

Overall, I was pleased. I think the room was a good value for the money. I've stayed at nicer rooms, for a lot more money, and I've stayed at rooms that weren't as nice, and cost more than the Ramada.

If I need a hotel in the area again, I would certainly want to stay at the Ramada again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Ramada Toms River, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear jerrys01,

Thank you! We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay at the Ramada Toms River! We are also glad that you enjoyed all of our brand new renovations to our guest rooms. We have been working hard to complete the renovations and have been hearing a lot of great feedback. Thank you again for the great review, and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Ramada Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have now stayed at this hotel twice and had the same experience each time. On weekends it is a very popular wedding venue. As a result, rowdy guests are in the halls until 1 or 2 am in the morning. It is impossible to sleep through the noise and commotion. The staff at the hotel are very nice and the hotel clearly needs the weddings as a source of revenue. My suggestion would be that the hotel is fine for stays except on weekends (unless of course you are part of the wedding party).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Ramada Toms River, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear rgag1,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Ramada Toms River. We apologize that you experienced some noise during the night of your stay. We do have many weddings that take place on the weekends, but we do our best to keep wedding guests separate from other guests to make sure the noise isn't an inconvenience. Again, we apologize this was your experience, and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ramada Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toms River hotels

Dfw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip. Very comfortable and quiet location. The best hotel bed I've ever slept on. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jo Stickney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Ramada Toms River, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jo Stickney B,

Thank you for this great review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at the Ramada Toms River, and we hope you choose to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Ramada Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
6.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
5.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
5.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Toms River

Property: Ramada Toms River
Address: 2373 Route 9, Toms River, NJ 08755-1219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Toms River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a Toms River hotel? The Ramada of Toms River, proud winner of the prestigious Ramada Presidents Award, offers a blend of comfort and convenience which is unparalleled among Toms River NJ hotels. The Ramada features 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites and many newly renovated executive suites, each featuring a full kitchen, living room and separate bedroom. The Versailles Ballroom is perfect for weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, sweet 16's, and other special events up to 350 people. Meeting packages and facilities are also available for corporate groups. The Ramada of Toms River is located in Ocean County near exit 88 of the Garden State Parkway, at the juncture of Route 70 and Route 9, near Lakewood, Bay Head, Point Pleasant, Lakehurst, Manchester, Seaside Heights, and Brick. Local corporations and attractions in our area include the Lakewood Industrial Park, Lakehurst NAES, Georgian Court University, Ocean County College, Historic Strand Theatre in Lakewood, Robert Miller Air Park, and Oyster Creek/Exelon Power Plant. We are just 5 minutes from Lakewood BlueClaws Baseball at FirstEnergy Park, 10 minutes from the Ritacco Center/Poland Springs Arena, 20 minutes from Point Pleasant Beach and Boardwalk, and about 60 minutes from Newark Liberty International and Atlantic City. Guests must be 21 or older to check in (please ask for complete details - some restrictions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Toms River / Lakewood Hotel Toms River
Toms River Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing