We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst front desk manager”
Review of Ramada Toms River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Toms River
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Reviewed December 19, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
2  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank JCandiceFlemington
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank PAT L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jenny F, Manager at Ramada Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently spent time at the Ramada Inn and Suites in Toms River, NJ for a wedding celebration. The hotel has 150+ rooms and suites. Our group had reserved a large number of
rooms nearly a year ago and most were confirmed as non-smoking rooms. When we arrived,
several couples were ushered in to what were obviously smoking rooms -- and several couples asked to be moved into what had been guaranteed them: non-smoking rooms. Supposedly, a number of FEMA staff, and some local residents werre still residing in the hotel two months after SANDY had struck the area. However, none of those who had confirmed reservations were told they would be "stuck" in terribly smelly rooms; they were told they could take the rooms or not.
Staff was not especially friendly or responsive to the plight of people who had confirmed reservations and who had travelled from as far away as Florida to stay there and be a part of the
wedding reception, and other festivities.
Food served at the banquet was average or below average. Potatoes were cold and in one lump.
Prime rib was bland, and for most part overcooked. Fish entree was apparently okay. Chicken
was served lukewarm at best. Servers tried their best to keep up, but it was readily apparent that they were understaffed for 150+ guests.
Front desk had two people manning the station, and long lines quickly resulted. This, added to the comments above, just added to the frustration. Both bride and groom parents were very much embarassed at what happened but were unable to help fix the problems. Not their fault.
Suites were NOT connected to main building; you had to walk about 250-300 feet to another building to get to them. And, when it's 35 degrees and raining, it made that trip very unpleasant.
Restaurant was fairly small, but buffet was adequate the next morning; however, $14 per person
for scrambled eggs and the like was a bit much.
All in all, a fairly unsatisfactory stay though our room was pretty clean. Heavy drapes were unable to be closed at night to ensure privacy and blot out the bright lights around the building. Only "sheers" would close.
Recommend you really check out "chain" (box type building) hotels before you book large groups and ensure that your confirmed reservation is exactly that: confirmed.

Room Tip: Rooms away from NJ Route 9 are less noisy. Some rooms are equipped with queen, king or two double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Ramada Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear TOPCat31_11,

We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay for the wedding reception you attended.

Following the recent devastation of Hurricane Sandy, we have been supplying rooms to FEMA workers who have been assisting with the damage in the surrounding areas. We did have available rooms for you and the rest of the guests, but unfortunately because of the extended stays of the FEMA workers, they were not the rooms you requested.

Our number one priority is to supply our guests with the best accommodations possible, and we apologize you did not receive that during your stay.

We hope you chose to stay with us again in the future, so we can show the 5-star accommodations we typically give all our guests.

Sincerely,

Ramada Inn Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Overall I would say this is a nice property. Staff at check in was very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size with two double beds. Good work area with 3'x5' desk and a great, adjustable chair. Comfortable bed. Room clean and well decorated.

Three items of note:

The light fixtures in bathroom are attractive from a decorator's viewpoint, but provide weak lighting for shaving, putting on makeup, etc. This is one area where I always prefer function over form.

The heating system was difficult to adjust to a comfortable temperature. I suggest that when entering the room you first press the off button (on the wall thermostat which controls the HVAC unit), and then press the button to turn on the heating or cooling and adjust the temperature up or down.

The wifi was pretty slow -- I guess you get what you pay for.

Overall we were pleased and will stay at this property again when in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyagerRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Ramada Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi VoyagerDave,

Thank you for taking the time to review Ramada Inn Toms River. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to stay with us again!

Thank you from the entire staff at the Ramada Inn Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
6.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
5.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
5.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
2.7 mi away
Best Western Leisure Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Toms River

Address: 2373 Route 9, Toms River, NJ 08755-1219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: $99 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Toms River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a Toms River hotel? The Ramada of Toms River, proud winner of the prestigious Ramada Presidents Award, offers a blend of comfort and convenience which is unparalleled among Toms River NJ hotels. The Ramada features 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites and many newly renovated executive suites, each featuring a full kitchen, living room and separate bedroom. The Versailles Ballroom is perfect for weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, sweet 16's, and other special events up to 350 people. Meeting packages and facilities are also available for corporate groups. The Ramada of Toms River is located in Ocean County near exit 88 of the Garden State Parkway, at the juncture of Route 70 and Route 9, near Lakewood, Bay Head, Point Pleasant, Lakehurst, Manchester, Seaside Heights, and Brick. Local corporations and attractions in our area include the Lakewood Industrial Park, Lakehurst NAES, Georgian Court University, Ocean County College, Historic Strand Theatre in Lakewood, Robert Miller Air Park, and Oyster Creek/Exelon Power Plant. We are just 5 minutes from Lakewood BlueClaws Baseball at FirstEnergy Park, 10 minutes from the Ritacco Center/Poland Springs Arena, 20 minutes from Point Pleasant Beach and Boardwalk, and about 60 minutes from Newark Liberty International and Atlantic City. Guests must be 21 or older to check in (please ask for complete details - some restrictions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Toms River / Lakewood Hotel Toms River
Toms River Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing