We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service But Smelly Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Clarion in Toms River for 2 nights in mid-September. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. However, the hallways and the room smelled like mildew. There were stains on the walls and the carpet and the bathroom tub was badly chipped. I am not usually too picky, but it was the worst room that I had stayed in years. The $5 breakfast was alright, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KyleHuntersvile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We apologize greatly for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback will be shared with our staff, and we appreciate your recognition of our good service.

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 659 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Comfortable bed, pillows, room. Clean spacious room. Responsive staff. Exceeds expectations for the $ spent. We were on the second floor and didn't find an elevator. Luckily we weren't travelling with much stuff. Not much parking near the closest door. Breakfast was an additional $10 for 2 - not surprising nothing special - and about the level you get for free other places. However even though it was really inexpensive it was nice not just having the $ as a part of the room rate and having the choice not to have breakfast there. Its in a good location right off the Garden State Parkway - quick drive to the beach etc. Recommended. Would go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your compliments and your feedback. Your review will be shared with all of our staff, and we look forward to seeing you when you're in the area again. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel in every way was 5 Star. We got in late - I had called ahead to let them know. They desk manager even went to the extent of choosing 3 rooms for us that were near the "Accessible Parking" as I was traveling with 5 Seniors Citizens. The rooms were clean and spacious, the breakfast was excellent - full american buffet. The staff was most accommodating! Would come back to this Clarion and look to stay at a Choice Hotel again!!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for the great hotel review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. Thank you for all of your compliments! We truly appreciate your feedback, and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stay here whenever we need to stay over in central NJ. The rooms are always clean, the beds comfy and the food at Ike's Bar & Grill very tasty. What impresses us most, however, is the staff, including management. We have special physical needs and every person has gone out of their way to meet those needs in a friendly & professional manner. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for the excellent review, and we appreciate being called NJ "Home". We're glad you find our hotel so comfortable and enjoyable! Thank you for complimenting our staff, and we are so happy you enjoyed the food at Ike's Pub & Grill. Thank you for your loyalty, and we'll see you again when you're back in the area!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at this location for two day and the staff was very helpful. the one person that stuck out the most was a very nice young lady named nichole she was very helpful and careing of our needs. the place was clean and the food was great i would return. strongly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for the 5 star review! We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel, and the food at Ike's Pub & Grill. We appreciate your compliments, and look forward to seeing you again if you're in the Toms River area. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed just one night, but our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We paid only $10 per room for a hot buffet breakfast. We ate dinner at Ike's Bar and Grill and the food was very good. We attended a conference there, and the hot buffet was very good as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're happy you were so satisfied with your stay and enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your sleeping room. Thank you for your compliments on the hot buffet during your banquet, and on the food at our Pub & Grill. Thank you for staying with us! And, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised. I stayed in a Clarion in Oneonta,NY and it was just ok. This hotel has super clean bathroom, clean rugs, and a comfortable bed. I was here for a family wedding and everyone in my group was extremely satisfied. Its what I expect everytime in a hotel/motel but you don't always get.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sp5ive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for the great hotel review! We appreciate your feedback and all of your compliments. We are so glad your entire group enjoyed their rooms and their cleanliness. We look forward to having you stay with us again, and thank you again for your business!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
3.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
5.3 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,286 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
6.7 mi away
Best Western Leisure Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River

Address: 815 Route 37 W, Toms River, NJ 08755-5015 (Formerly Quality Inn Toms River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: $93 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Inn Toms River, we have been upgraded to become the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center. We have replaced our guest room furniture & bedding in every room including beds, bed covering, linens, pillows, blankets, etc. We have flat screen televisions in all guest rooms and recently added 14 new HD TV channels to the programming. All of our guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and a coffee maker. We recently added a new exercise room, and expanded our business center. We feature meeting rooms and two ballrooms for all of your banquet needs. Come and enjoy casual dining in our onsite Ike's Pub & Grill, with 50" HD Plasmas in the bar, and an upgraded sports package with NFL Sunday Ticket. We feature an outdoor pool & sundeck, and offer free wireless internet access throughout the entire hotel. Onsite parking is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing