We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    127
    124
    78
    69
See reviews for
236
91
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tom's Riveer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Overall nice hotel for the price. The pillows were too thick our first night and the staff changed them the next morning. The hotel is next to the Parkway and becomes very loud with traffic about 6am. We also heard doors closing but other noise from rooms was muted well. One of the two chairs in the room was an office chair on rollers which was uncomfortable and the rollers were all stuck. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, A/C worked well, and the make your own waffles were good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear David; Thank you for your review and for sharing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments for the hotel and pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay.

If there is anything else we can do to better your guest experience for your next visit, please let us know.

Thank you again for being our guests.

Sarah
Howard Johnson Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Took this hotel at the last minute when plans changed. Got a great 4 night rate, with negotiating, and it seemed like a decent no frills, but clean, motel. Over the third night the room kept getting warmer so we kept lowering the thermostat. In the morning reported to the front desk that the A/C no longer working correctly. They offered us another upgraded room, but we had no time to pack up and change and asked that the A/C be fixed. My husband mentioned that they should offer us some compensation for the inconvenience. About an hour later the GM, Jawad Benmakhlouf, called to tell us it was our fault the A/C wasn't working because we lowered the thermostat to much. He said he could charge us for that, but would not. That night when we got back to hotel he showed us a pic of the frozen unit and again blamed us for lowering the thermostat to much. I told him I am 58 years old, have owned 3 homes and have stayed in 4,3 & 2 star hotels, cruise ships,etc. and have never broken an A/C unit by lowering the thermostat to much. It froze because it kept running when it was unable to lower the room temp because something is wrong with it. He kept yelling at us that we got the room for $68 a night and we caused the problem and we should have called maintenance overnight and it wasn't that hot anyway,etc., until I finally told him this was the worst customer service experience I have ever had. All he needed to do was apologize for our inconvenience and explain why he couldn't offer us a further discount in a civil manner. Stay away from this "joint."

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Cindy; Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your recent stay. I understand that when traveling, all the comforts of home such as a clean, comfortable room with all working amenities is key to a pleasant stay. Our committment is to our guests and 100% satisfaction is important to us.

Maintenance issues and unexpected repairs can cause any trip to sour and we are sorry to see that occured during your stay. I can honestly say that it was not our General Manager's intent to come across as he did. We know its inconvenient to move rooms but we were willing to work with you to solve the issue. He was also explaining that because you had already received a heavily discounted rate and had been our guests for 3 of 4 nights before the unit no longer worked, he was well within his authority to deny further compensation.

I greatly apologize for the way in which the situation was handled leading you to have an unpleasant experience. We cannot take back your experience but we can use your feedback as a way to better our services moving forward.

Thank you,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toms River hotels

Toms River
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The room was very average but clean. But, the first night on the bathroom floor I found a huge roach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Mike; Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is unfortunate that this was found in your bathroom and we are sorry we missed it on our daily room inspections. The weather changes daily and insects will find their way inside more often as they will do with any establishment or home. We do not have any concerns or issues with any infestations and feel this was an isolated incident. As an added measure for our guests comfort, we have contacted our pest control service and will ask them to continue to monitor this for the hotel.

Thank you again for being our guest, we apologize that your stay was not up to the high brand standards that we uphold everyday for every guest.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sloatsburg, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed overnight. It appears that they have squeezed 2 double beds to enlarge some room capacity. One bed is smack against the heater/ac with no leg room to navigate too well. There are some cosmetic changes necessary. The morning breakfast offering was cramped as the hotel was full with all the tournaments, competitions and weddings going on, but the service and offering was ample. Did not visit the lounge but they had entertainment and a crowd. It served a need for us for one night. No elevator, should you need one for your use. Staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZYSHOREGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Jrzyshoregal; Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you selecting the Howard Johnson Toms River as your place to stay while in town. We have made some great improvements over the years and more to come, we thank you for sharing what is needed in the guest room so we know what areas to focus on. We have been quiet busy lately which is wonderful but we understand the down side to that is a crowded breakfast room. Sorry about that. We know that area needs an expansion but unfortunately we do not have the room to expand. We will certainly look at all options available to us. Thank you again for being our guests and for sharing your trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing