We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had an excellent day but could have used a little...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we had an excellent day but could have used a little...”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

we had an excellent day but could have used a little brighter lighting in the room and also a laundry bag

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest; Thank you for being a guest of the Howard Johnson Toms River. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and feedback. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations a good fit for your needs. We will pass along the recommendation to the hotel team and work on brightening the room a bit for your next stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    143
    131
    91
    76
See reviews for
271
101
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hotel was clean & staff friendly. One problem a child was running up & down the hallway until 10:30 pm.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Mariann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take great pride in the hotel and providing a clean, comfortable room with exceptional customer service is very important to us. We are delighted to see we met that goal with you. We understand fully that kids need to run off steam sometimes, however there is a time and place for that late at night is not that time. We apologize for the disturbance. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you are in Toms River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

While I realize breakfast is FREE, the costs have to be built into the price of the room. Compared to other hotels they have to step up their game a bit. The coffee is absolutely colored water with NO taste whatsoever. The coffee left in the room (with exactly TWO packets of sugar for a family of FOUR!) is just as bad. I think they wanted us to wind up at IHOP (Same company?!).


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Ismail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We are very pleased to see you found the accommodations comfortable and good fit for you. Per brand standards all guestrooms are provided two packets of coffee and two packets of creamer/sugar/sweetner per room, per day, not per the amount of guests in the room. Please let us know if you needed anything extra in the room we would have been more than happy to provide you with that. With regards to the breakfast, we are sorry to see you were not satisfied with the selections and appreciate the feedback. We will share this with the hotel manager and restaurant staff and see what improvements we can make for our future guests. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,234 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#29 of 39 in Seaside Heights
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing