We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst ever, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Reviewed June 24, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 572 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Randolph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed, here, last week (Thursday, June 13 & Friday, June 14), and received a most welcome surprise: Management renovated the place! New appliances, micro-wave oven, refrigerator and a flat-screen TV set on the wall! I mean, the giant-size, flat-screen TV really floored me (!), because, at first, I didn't see it! I looked in the usual places for the TV screen, but it wasn't there!! I knew that it MUST be there, somewhere, because the remote control WAS in its usual place, on the bedstand, next to the bed. Then, I looked up at the wall, and THERE it appeared to me in ALL its regal splendor! I felt like such a putz! I called my buddy up, in Bridgewater, New Jersey, to tell HIM about it! Suddenly, I felt a craving for something, BEER! So, I ran down to the hotel bar, got Laurie's attention (she's the house bartender) and asked (begged?) for a six-pack of Miller Lite, and she informed me, "it's gonna be fifteen bucks, pal, we don't have a package-store license!" I replied, "no problem," and gave her a twenty, fifteen for the beer, and five for her tip-jar. Then, I proceeded to buy three bags of popcorn from the hotel vending machine, and made myself comfortable in front of my NEW, flat-screen TV. With the air-conditioning on! I was in Heaven!!! Outside, the weather was lousy, inside, the amenities were EXCELLENT!!! The room was meticulously clean. Everything in its proper place! The service I received from the front-desk was EXCELLENT!!! Top-of-the-line!!! The following morning, the complimentary breakfast was the BEST in town! Believe me, I've stayed at the OTHER places, but I consider Howard Johnson's, Toms River, to be MY place! I liked it SO much, I stayed for a second night! Oh, I did make one, minor change, though: On the second day (Friday, June 14th), I made my beer purchases, across busy Route 37 East, at McIntyre's Liquor Store. Instead of fifteen bucks for a six-pack, McIntyre's charged me $11.99 for a twelve-pack! Sorry, Laurie, nothing personal, it's strictly business! BOTTOM-LINE: Howard Johnson's, of Toms River, IS the BEST hotel in Toms River, NJ!
Okay, Howard Johnson's, THAT'S my review, now WHERE'S my check?

Room Tip: Be a regular customer, have a relationship with the manager, and, VOILA (!), he'll waive the req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barryfleckmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest; Thank you very much for the great 5 star review. We really enjoy seeing all the positive comments regarding the recent renovations to our guest rooms, that means a lot to us. Hope you had the chance to see the beautiful new indoor pool area that we renovated too?

I'm glad to see that Laurie was able to assist you promptly and you were back on your way to your "new" room to relax for the evening. I'll certainly pass along the remarks to her and the wonderful compliments you gave to the rest of the team as well.

Thank you for returning to the Howard Johnson Toms River. We'll see you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I recently stayed at Howard Johnson Hotel in TRNJ. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and the hotel was nice. The rooms were a descent size, quiet and clean. They served breakfast in the morning, just a little plain selection but it was nice to wake up to coffee, a hot waffle and a piece of fruit. It was just enough to get your day rolling. If I am ever in the area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest; We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind remarks and for giving our hotel 5 stars. I'm glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable place to stay and a hot breakfast to help you start your stay off right. It is wonderful seeing you will return again should you find yourself in the area. Thank you again for the business. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Traveled with 16 mth old- floors dirty his socks were stained black unwashable. A/c in room did not work- was over 90 degrees outside n cooler outside. Clerk at desk was unpleasant stating nothing she could've done bout air. Pool smelled of urine. Spent $150 one nite and was not worth the cost. Very unhappy. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest; Thank you for your review, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I understand you had a very uncomfortable night with no air conditioning and I am sure the hotel was working as fast as they can to correct it but if the whole hotel was out we would not have been able to move you to a different room as that room would have had no a/c as well. The chlorine used to keep the pool clean and sanitized are checked often however, we appreciate you bringing that to our attention so we look into it further. Please accept our sincere apologies for the isuses you faced as our guest as we did not meet our goal of providing 100% guest satisfaction with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were very happy with our room, the servicing of our room and the free internet service. The location is very handy being central to many places and with restuarants, Wawa, K Mart in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest; Thank you for your very nice review and letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that found the location to be an ideal fit for your needs. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Toms River area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,297 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Leisure Inn
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: $82 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing