We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The opposite of rewarding yourself.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pros-
- Heater works well
- You have a balcony
- A flat screen tv
Cons-
- Bit by a spider when sleeping.

- (if it rains) you can clearly hear the rain drops through you ceiling (it was light rain too).

- there were cigarette burns in both my sheets and the certain (in a non-smoking room).

- if you like marijuana then this is the place for you. (the halls reek of it).

- if ou like the smell of a Vegas casino... This is the place for you.

- came back to room after housekeeping cleaned up and the toilet would not flush, so I called the front desk and told them the situation and the response was literally a "sigh" and a 5second pause (not seeming helpful what so ever) and then told me that he would find a plunger for me and that when he did I could come to the front and pick it up (whhhaattt?!?!?!) yeah that happened.

- i put 2 dollars in the vending machine for water and it spit out quarters and upon putting the quarters in machine, no response.it took my money. I went to the front desk and told the lady what the situation was and she said "don't use the vending machine in the middle it doesn't work" I then said okay what about the other one and she said that didn't work as well. She directed me to the IHOP across the street for water.

There is more that happened but need I say more? Nope..... Don't waste your money, staying here was the opposite of rewarding myself.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Eddie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide your feedback about your stay with us. All feedback we receive is important to us as it helps us improve and grow. The inconveniences you faced where unfortunate and certainly not acceptable that they negatively affected your stay. We'd like to apologize if you felt at any time that our staff replied to your concerns in a unprofessional manner. However, we did not see that you approached a member of management so we were unable to assist you personally and rectify these concerns at the time. We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us but we do wish you would have approached us prior to leaving the hotel so we could have worked with you on resolving these matters. Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 558 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The room was clean and we liked the balcony. Most often rooms are completely closed therefore to get fresh air you have to leave your room. However, the pillows were too small and too soft for the queen size bed. Next time, I will travel with my own pillow.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank DianeBPalmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest; Thank you for the 4 star review! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your business while in town. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were in the older section with rooms that are in serious need of updating. The parking was horrendous. We understand the displaced people from hurricane Sandy needing more than one parking place, but they should have had their extra vehicles and u-haul trailers parked in the available lot across the street to allow for people traveling from out of town to have enough space to park somewhere near their room and not have to walk a long distance in the rain to get inside. The newly renovated rooms that we saw looked nice. The breakfast area was small and the breakfast left a lo to be desired.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank BARBARA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay and provide us with your valuable feedback. The hotel has been a home away from home for many guests displaced by Hurricane Sandy from the beginning. I am sure that any belongings they could salvage, they want to keep close by. We would like to apologize for the cramped parking because of their extra vehicles and the inconvenience caused you and your family. We will look into partnering up with the business across the street and see if we can utilize some of their parking spaces - thank you for the suggestion. When the hotel has completed its renovations -we welcome the opportunity to have you visit us again and see all the positive improvements we have made. Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed here before and overall it is average. Here's what I can share from a few visits:

First the bad:
Prof. Pics are deceiving. I do believe No rooms are like the ones in the pictures.
Top floor rooms are bigger.
Balconies/patios had towels/cigs/ trash on them EVERYTIME.
giant clumps of hair in greenish pool when it wasn't even busy.
Don't pay for breakfast- it ends before you will wake up. 9am I think?
outside door C still wont open with key card even after being "fixed"
It does smell like cigarettes sometimes.
pretty Limited Tv stations
Low water pressure
Computer in the Lobby is soo slow

The Good:
Usually smells fresh and nice
Quiet
Nice landscaping
Very laidback calm place
Lounge deck chairs
Always parking
Very nice maids. Not so much desk help.
Wifi. Better wifi downstairs though.
Very good location for anything. Beach, Shops. Highway... Everything.

Room Tip: TIPS: Downstairs dbl room comes with couch. Upstairs does not. Faster wifi downstairs rooms. Bigg...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you coming back and giving us a 2nd chance. Cleanliness, safety, security, and comfort of our guests is very important to us, we'd like to thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns. The hotel photos are accurate description of the guest rooms, the door by C has been repaired and continue to monitor it to see if it needs replaced, we found that during the busy summer months, a majority of guests do not request daily service so the balconies cannot be cleaned. Breakfast is available for a reasonable price at Christopher's Pub at 11:30 am for those that like to sleep in a bit longer. We know that repeat business such as yours is vital to our hotels success and we thank you again for your honest review, the feedback is important to us as it helps us to grow. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,263 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#29 of 39 in Seaside Heights
450 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: $92 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing