We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    126
    124
    78
    69
See reviews for
236
91
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Check in staff was great (Dan & Manager), brought extra pillows to our room & refused a tip! But dead & live crickets in the room were not fun. We were told by late night staff to use a hairdryer to scare away the crickets (not easy when it was attached to wall on the other side of the room) and that the bug spray was to smelly to use. We also had an extreamly bright wall light (main room light) missing its cover so we couldnt use it & desk lamp had no bulbs. Becauae we had an event to attend we just dealt with it. The beds were so soft, those outdated covers & the scratchiest blankets made sleeping a chore along with the constant chirping from the cricket. Breakfast was sadly to crowded & depleated to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for chosing the Howard Johnson Toms River. We appreciate all feedback that we receive as it helps us to grow and improve where we need too. I'd like to apologize that we fell short with the expectations with you on the overall condition and comfort in your room and will address that with the staff. We welcome to opportunity to have you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The staff was accommodating and the location was excellent. We like the restaurant in the complex and we ate there a lot. The carpet was dirty on the stairs. The is an old complex that they are updating. We liked the extra electrical outlets. I thought the bed was a little too firm for me but my husband liked it. It was quiet and we appreciated the elevator with all of our luggage. We stayed for a total of 9 days, so it was home away from home. It is not luxurious but is comfortable and a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for making the Howard Johnson Toms River your home away from home while your were travelling! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review letting us know what you did and did not enjoy, all feedback we receive helps us to grow and improve were we can. We welcome to opportunity to have you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel was very old, blankets had spots on them, rooms were dingy, beds were soft and pool was dirty and peeling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest; we sincerely apologize that what you experienced while staying with us, was certainly not typical of Wyndham quality or our high standards that strive to adhere to in our day to day operations. We will use your feeback as ways to improve upon the conditions of the property where we can. We would like to thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toms River hotels

PHILADELPHIA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The carpeting in the hallway is atrocious. it smelled of vomit, urine and everything else. It made me sick to my stomach. The balcony was not swept and the chairs were dirty. All else was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all feedback that we receive as it helps us to grow and improve where we need too. We take great pride in our hotel and unfortunately it did not show while you were with us. I'd like to apologize that we fell short with the expectations with you on the cleanliness of the carpet in your room and will address that with the staff. We welcome to opportunity to have you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARSAW
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. Price is way to high for this hotel. The only good thing about this hotel is the lounge and bartenders. Making repairs to a hotel at 7:30 in the morning is unheard of. If they were going to redoing rooms they could of informed me or offered me a different room if they knew they were going to be working in those rooms next to me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank 595sailfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest, I would like to personally thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay at Howard Johnson Toms River. On behalf of the management, we sincerely apologize that your stay was interuppted by construction noise. I am not sure the occupancy at time of your stay or why you were not advised, but based on availability we should have offered to move your room. We appreciate your business while in town and we do take all feed back to heart and this will help us to continue to focus on improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Desk went out of its way to give us room we wanted.

Too much Clorox smell coming into room, but opening patio door cleared it out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest; thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again when your travels bring you through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing