We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodations, great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Staff was friendly, breakfast was nice-hot waffels! Price was great. Beds comfortable. Directions we received were accurate. Hotel was much better than some reviewers indicated. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank DAVID D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking time to let us know about your experience while staying with us and we were very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you return for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 568 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've enjoyed staying at Ho-Jo's Toms River many times when I want to be near the ocean and especially the wonderful Island Beach State Park (despite recent admission increase for out-of-staters). I like the convenience of the lobby's free Internet access. Front desk workers have always been welcoming; in fact, I regard Laurie as a friend. My rooms have always been clean and comfortable. IHOP just across the street is great for breakfasts and late-night meals, if needed. The hotel is only a few miles of easy driving from Red Lobster, Friendly's, and Olive Garden. Hotel is also an easy drive to the area's large Stop & Shop grocery store, which is right off the highway en route to the beaches. I'm not one who usually makes special requests, but during a recent stay I was very pleased when the desk clerk quickly changed a king-sized bed room to 2 double beds (which I hadn't been able to get via online or phone reservation) to accommodate the members of my party.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write us and offer such a wonderful review. We are so pleased to know that not only are you a frequent guest, but that we exceeed your expectations each and every time! We greatly appreciate the compliments towards our staff and hotel. We thank you again for being a loyal Howard Johnson Toms River guest. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great stay, staff was great! I only had one complaint and that was about the beds. The mattresses were either very poor quality or old. They made spring noises when you moved! Also- The pool was clean but needs updating very badly! Rust spots on the floor and just a very old look. Other than that- Great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Renata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest: Our Team would like to thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience while staying with us and we were very glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay apart from a few things. We take all feedback to heart and will use yours as a way to help us make improvements moving forward. We look forward to having you return for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Overall very good. The entrance to the hotel was a little confusing since the on ramp was not on the main route.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you return for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This HoJo is in strong need of updates. The room interiors have that old musty smell. Place to smoke is directly in the walking path of entring where rooms are. Disgusting ashtray smell goes right up your nose. Carpet was filthy and and made socks dirty. 2 Pillows on King Bed.. called desk for additional.. I was told I would have to come to the desk to pick them up. Ice machine on floor was not working. Closet mirror doors hanging off track and unable to open. A/C unable to regulate... no adjustments could be made. and aimed right at heads when sleeping.. weather was too hot and muggy to turn off so had to keep it on but block it with furniture and suitcases.

Room Tip: this was a very small king room.. double beds room seemed so much larger and more comfy when we loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest; Our entire team would like to sincerely apologize to you for all the issues you faced while staying with us recently. We would like to thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We will use your feed back to help us implement improvements and hope to see you again for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

. as a boy on family motor trip vacations, i can remember the reassuring words of my father "look for a Howard Johnson " with the thoughts of a cozy dinner or a comfortable night stay. and so went a tradition of simple happy memories in the excitement of childhood adventures. today all has changed with time and although the name is part of a huge hospitality empire, i still look for Howard Johnson on my travels expecting a reasonably pleasant experience. and so i will say that this property is quite nice, comfortable, and convenient, however some guests were loud and very disturbing. i thank the staff who treated me so well during my long stay .

Room Tip: rooms facing parking areas can be noisy and weekends can bring rude noisy people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Alphonns; I too remember my father saying "look for the bright orange roof of the Howard Johnson's" when I was growing up. We thank you for being loyal to the Howard Johnson franchise and for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Sorry to see you had a few unpleasent times due to disturbances you faced because of others. We appreciate you letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sure we will see you again in the near future when your travels bring you through the area once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

don't charge 50 buck a day for a dog and if your going to make sure it is posted on the website better I have been all over the country with my dog in bigger and better hotel and citys then the Toms River New Jersey HOJO and was not charged 50 dollars a day for my dog I will never stay in your hotle ever again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Scott; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know the concern you had about not seeing the pet policy clearly defined. I did find that the pet fee policy in place is not as detailed as it should be on our website. Moving forward, with your feedback, we will make the necessary change to have our pet policy and fees associated with it, clearly defined so guests are aware when travelling with their beloved pets. We sincerely apologize that deterred you and your family from having a pleasent experience while staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,286 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
6.1 mi away
Best Western Leisure Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: $83 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing