We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were disappointed with our stay at the Holiday Inn Toms River.

The Negative:

-No early check in- not even 30 minutes early. All the available rooms were allegedly still dirty
-The elevator was broken down - I know it's unforeseeable and can happen, but It still was a negative
- Bad smells in the hallway and in the room. The room smelled of old hotel air freshener.
- The carpeting was dirty
- The crowds were rowdy, yelling all and screaming all hours of night
- Security - we checked out in the AM to find 5 Toms River Police vehicles parked in front of the hotel
- The shower drain was clogged

The Positive:
- Good location, easy on and off of the parkway and close to shopping and food
- Great price
- The bathroom and bed were clean

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear JoeBolton,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Toms River. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay, and we would like to take this opportunity to address some of your concerns. During the summer months, early check-in is unlikely because of our high volume and most often being sold out. We also apologize that you experienced an odor. We have not received complains about an odor before, but this will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback and hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 879 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Front Desk Supervisor ( Jennifer Hayden Schel) was the best Supervisor I havehad to deal with in Six years Working for my Company. She was Very Curtious, Cheerful and easy to talk to. She accomidated my crew with a smile and a gracious heart. She knows that we work nights and had the cleaning staff not bother us. This is one of the first times I was looking forward to going back to your Hotel, Also the Ladies in the Restaurant Lorraine and Sharon were also very Pleasant and helpful every morning. Always making sure the 5 guys were comfortable and happy. You should be very happy to have a Staff like this in your company because it is very hard to have this caring and happy staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear James S,

Thank you! We greatly appreciate you giving your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Toms River 5-stars on TripAdvisor. We also can't thank you enough for all the wonderful comments you left about our exceptional staff. They all work hard to provide our guests with great service, and it is wonderful to hear that their dedication is paying off. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Another stay another good experience. Reservation process went smoothly, Welcomed by a friendly and efficient Alexis and assigned to a pleasant and CLEAN room. During our stay the mornings started with a good breakfast served by Sharon and Lorraine (again friendly and efficient). Jennifer at the front desk was VERY helpful and professional in helping us with some local places we needed to find.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Bob G,

Wow! Thank you for this great review! We greatly appreciate all the wonderful comments about our excellent staff members. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family had a wonderful time staying at the Toms River Holiday Inn while visiting the Jersey Shore. Our accommodations were modern, clean and attractive A special mention for Holiday Inn Desk Manager Jennifer Schel. She was a breath of fresh air during our reservation process and stay. Very attentive, professional, courteous and funny. She only added to the joy of our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice hotel in the New Jersey Shore area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear D D,

Thank you for the 5-star review of the Holiday Inn Toms River! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations, and we greatly appreciate your recommendation to other travelers. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a clean, pleasant, well situated hotel on the main drag in Toms River, but the reservation system is awful. We had a reservation for 2 rooms for six days, since they couldn't believe we needed two rooms for family, they cancelled the reservation for one of the rooms without contacting us. One room, just does not meet our needs. Of course, the hotel was sold out. After standing at the desk for over 30 minutes they found us accommodations, at a much higher price about 20 minutes away. Just the best they could do. We stayed at that location for one night and returned to the Holiday Inn the next day for our two rooms. The front desk now had us reserved for three rooms. I'm not sure what reservation system they are using, but it is not quick or efficient. It took all of 2 minutes to check in to the substitute hotel, never did I observe such quick service at the Holiday Inn.
Also the wifi system needs a password that is changed during the night, so each morning you need to recall the front desk to reconnect to the wifi. At our substitute hotel, you just entered your room number in as the password, and viola! you were connected.
In addition, the AC does not have a slow speed, it blasts away at high speed or you can shut it off, which doesn't cool the room. On automatic, the AC turns on at high speed every half hour or so all night long. It was not a particularly restful night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonicec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear vonicec,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Toms River. We sincerely apologize for the confusion upon check-in. This is not typical of our property, and this will be addressed with the staff to ensure it does not happen again. We would also like to apologize for the other inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you the exceptional service and accommodations we are known for.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was invited to a wedding nearby.
The hotel is beautiful, good service, smiling crew.
the entire atmosphere was pleasant.
The room was small but well equipped and did the job for me.
I enjoyed my time there and if you are around go there

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Dani B,

Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Toms River! We greatly appreciate all the great comments, and we hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived the front desk supervisor Jennifer went above an beyond for us!! The hotel is very clean an modern, very nice pool an huge sauna! Would recommend to everyone!! But Jennifer tops it all off!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacylay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Jacylay,

Wow! Thank you for the excellent 5-star review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Toms River! We are thrilled you enjoyed everything about your stay, and we greatly appreciate all the wonderful comments about our staff. We have a great team here, and your review will be shared with everyone. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
3.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
6.3 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
24.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore

Address: 290 Route 37 E, Toms River, NJ 08753-5564 (Formerly Holiday Inn Toms River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: $87 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated off of the Garden State Parkway and close to a wide array of Jersey Shore attractions, the Days Hotel in Toms River-Jersey Shore offers a fanatical devotion to quality, cleanliness and one-on-one care. Cutting-edge amenities, peerless service and state-of-the-art facilities, plus a convenient location, make it the perfect pick whether you're planning a vacation or business trip to Toms River.The hotel's location in Toms River, NJ is especially ideal for corporate travelers who seek to maximize efficiency and productivity. There are a number of military facilities nearby, including McGuire Air Force Base, and Exelon's Oyster Creek Power Plant is also easily accessible. Also, for meetings of up to 400 people, you can consider making use of one of the five function rooms we offer.Vacationers find endless entertainment outlets in Toms River, NJ. The hotel's proximity to Seaside Heights means beaches, shopping, a scenic boardwalk and amusement park rides are 10 minutes away. You can also take a day trip to the Jersey Shore Premium Outlets, just 20 miles from the hotel.Guests look forward to coming home to Toms River, NJ because of this hotel's fantastic amenities. The heated, indoor pool and a sauna promise relaxation, and free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access keeps you connected. Happy hour at Palm's Lounge is always fun, and dinner at Palm's Restaurant is sure to satisfy. Guests must be 21 or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing