We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went to an event there so stayed there. Event was excellent. Good food, good service, nice room. Enjoyed it. Room is another story. Check in was perfunctory. Overworked young man at counter trying to juggle phone calls and customers. Didn't do either very well. The room smelled musty. No stopper in bath so couldn't soak my bad knee after long drive. Noisy air conditioner. TV didn't work properly. Soap was inadequate. Worst of all...the bed was the lumpiest, hardest, most uncomfortable bed I've slept on since the Army, fifty years ago. I've been in foxholes more comfortable, seriously. I woke up feeling like I needed a good nights sleep. It's not the chain, folks. Holiday Inn Express is consistently fine. This one place needs a new manager.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenton1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hi Michael F,

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn in Toms River.

We apologize that your room was not satisfactory. We always encourage our guests to notify management if there is any problem with their room. We want to make our guests feel at home when staying with us, and if there are issues we want to rectify them as soon as possible.

We hope you consider staying with us again, and we hope to receive a more positive review in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 902 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had our wedding at the Atlantis Ballroom in September 2012 which is located inside the Holiday Inn. They work with each other but Atlantis Ballroom is owned & operated by a different company. I wouldn't have nearly as many complaints if I had to stay here on a business trip or as a guest of a wedding but since I was the bride, I had some major issues.The lobby, bar, restaurant and both event rooms look extremely nice. The guest rooms however are very very outdated. Since we were the bride & groom we got the "king suite". The difference with this room and all the other rooms is a Jacuzzi tub, a flat screen TV, a tiny mini fridge and a worn out couch. The ceremony, reception and where all the guest were staying is the reason why we decided to do everything at the hotel, including some of our wedding pictures. I really wish I would have requested to see what the "suite" looked like beforehand. Some of my pictures need to have the background blurred out because of the horrendous curtains. Not nearly enough lighting in either the room or bathroom. The shower stall must have been made for guest under 5'2". Carpets & curtains need to be replaced. And the hallway was so extremely hot for some reason. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially, Jennifer who works the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsoleary928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel (Holiday Inn) in Tom's River for 3 nights and 4 days and we just had a blast. The hotel was very nice and the employees were great, especially Jennifer Schel! She was outstanding and wonderful. She pointed us in every direction and had an answer to everything that we asked. She made us laugh and anything we asked for, we got in a snap of a finger. Another great thing about this hotel was that you could walk to alot of places and did not have to worry about driving. Thanks for everything, highly recommended.

Room Tip: One close to the lobby!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseygrl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Toms River last weekend. We thought it would be a good location to spend a few days at the Jersey shore, and it was. It was very convenient to Seaside Heights, Point Pleasant Beach, and only an hour from Atlantic City. We wre very happy with the quality of our stay. Jennifer Schel at the front desk made us feel very welcome. She was most friendly and took care of our requests very efficiently. Our room was really clean (even by my wife"s standards) and comfortable. It even had a pleasant view of the courtyard by the pool. The restaurant served an excellent breakfast. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The fourth floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_Unlimited_Inc, Owner at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and will do everything we can to make sure it's another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here about 7 months effectively making this our second home. Over 7 months you can find a lot right and wrong with a hotel. Lets just say I found a lot of both. As for the right, Jen Schel led a front desk staff that was courteous and helpful. Considering our lengthy stay we became friends with most. As for the bad, the hotel is outdated and many issues. Multiple of our employees got stuck in the elevator and many of the rooms had mold. The Internet was atrocious forcing many of our employees to go out and get personal hot spots.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_Unlimited_Inc, Owner at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We’re very glad that our staff made personal connection and left an excellent impression with you and your team. As for your concerns, we did experience an internet slowdown due to a spike in usage during part of your stay, but have since upgraded our internet connection to improve both speed and capacity. Since the upgrade, our guests have been very happy with their internet access. We sincerely hope to see you and your team again soon, and we’ll keep striving to earn a perfect review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel location is great. Many restaurants close by, a great complementary gym across the street, and the neighborhood is safe and close to the beach.
The breakfast buffet is good and the hostesses are very friendly, polite, and hard working. They are always trying to make the customer happy which is a tall order these days when everyone wants something for nothing. Many people expect the breakfast to be free like it is at many hotels, not realizing that Holiday Inn does this only for Priority Club members.
Jennifer Schel, at the front desk, is a pistol. She knew the names of all 20+ people in our group by the time we left. Jen runs a tight ship and is very competent, personable, empathetic, and knowledgeable. Jen gets two thumbs up in my book.
The wireless in the hotel needed some upgrading for speed. While we were there, there seemed to be some improvement but many people still had problems. Also, the elevators have some reliability problems. All in all it was a good stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at Holiday Inn for 2 nights in September with daughter and grandchildren (10 and 8). Quality hotel with reasonable rates not far from beach and boardwalk. Building is not new but very well kept. Rooms were very clean with good bedding and bathroom facilities. Indoor pool (with sauna) was large and very clean. Restaurant on site (The Palms) had tasty dinner selections and a very nice breakfast buffet. And Kids under 12 eat free.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn was hosting a Wedding and a Reunion while we were there. Our room was on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorshamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_Unlimited, Public Relations Manager at Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Hey HorshamTraveler,

Thanks so much for your support! We really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn of Toms River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
3.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
6.3 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore

Address: 290 Route 37 E, Toms River, NJ 08753-5564 (Formerly Holiday Inn Toms River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: $83 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore is ideally situated off of the Garden State Parkway – minutes from the beaches, boardwalks and a wide array of Jersey Shore attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing