We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TP Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TP Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Pomona, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was very surprised to read negative reviews about this property. I have stayed here many times and each time I found the staff to be pleasant, accommodating, and friendly. The rooms were clean, parking convenient and safe. The front desk staff, both Tony and TJ were very polite. In the summer time the location is perfect due to the proximity to the Seaside Heighst amusements, and a short distance from Atlantic City. Check out time is 11:00 am, however, there is some leaway. When making my reservation TJ was on the desk and was very polite and accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are nice if you like a water view. I have stayed in various rooms and they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    6
    1
    32
See reviews for
23
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hope, nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pros:Friendly staff, good coffee, room was clean
Cons:Very run down, Hallway carpet looked like it hadn't ever been shampooed, building needed maintenance(painting, repairs)Had to wait a few minutes for one of the guests to move her 75lb pit bull mix so we could get to our room(afraid of large dogs) I didn't know you could bring pets! Room was non smoking but smelled of heavy smoke. There is was no closet, just a shelf with bars but no hangers. Workout room looked decent but when I asked for the key I was told someone had deficated on the floor so they closed it. I asked if there was a bathroon near the lobby the answer was yes but they didn't have a key. Our room was on the front side of the motel so it was very noisey all night. (24hr convenience store was accross the street, and there was heavy road traffic) The next morning I found a dog had pooped in the hallway I advised the font desk and the cleaning person cleaned it labout an hour later(I hope not too maney people stepped in it during that hour) I noticed there appeared to be 8am beer drinkers living in the storage room.

Room Tip: If you still want a room after that review good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmmyHope_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toms River hotels

Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I am surprised by some of the negative reviews. Whenever I'm in Toms River area I choose this place. Red Roof Inns are always clean and fair-priced. Tom's River Red Roof has a convenience store right across the street, safe parking lot in the back and the guy at the front desk, T.J., is polite and accommodating. There's a little four-seater bar downstairs which is actually quite nice. Rooms have wi-fi, refrig, microwave and TV. Last time I was there I needed to stay a few hours past checkout and was told no problem. When I tried to tip the front desk he wouldn't accept it.

IMPORTANT: I sometimes book a smoking room, but not here. The smoking section is downstairs and smells pretty bad. Also, since the window is at ground level you look outside and see car bumpers and tires, or headlights shine into the room when guests park their cars. I went to the front desk to complain and and the manager apologized and immediately gave me another room. He was very nice about it. Non-smoking rooms on ground level and 2nd floor are fine.

Room Tip: Don't book a smoking room. I'm a smoker and even I couldn't take the smell. My one and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here over Memorial Day for one night. Not only did they rip us off by charging $200 a night, but the place was a dump!!!! The beds were like sleeping on a box spring, curtains were ripped and it smelled like smoke. When I wrote to the management, they only sent me an apology email. I'll never stay with them again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The service we got was great on our 4 night stay at this red roof. This was our fourth red roof on our trip and it was by far the best we have stayed at. We stayed here for location and it paid off big time! You get the best of two worlds in Toms River. New York is only an hour and a half away and then the Jersey shore is a 15 min drive to all the best areas. We layed on the each and went to the big city all in the same trip. Everything in Toms river, Seaside Heights and surrouding area is super expensive. This red roof is overpriced in comparison to other red roofs but you are paying for location. There service was so good!! Asked us everytime of we were happy with our rooms as enjoying our stay, the gal in the bar (yes bar attached) was awesome in giving us travel advice! The room was clean but they are run down and do need improvements. I hope that they will update some of the stained furniture and carpets, especially with the price point. NO BED BUGS AT ALL!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

At first I saw the reviews and I didn't want to book but my gut feeling lead to me do so anyways. We rrived to the room it was still being cleaned which we didn't mind because at least we knew the room was clean. The staff was very nice although I pictured the room to be a tad bit bigger. I couldn't find any bed bugs. The hotel was a bit out dated but It was great except the breakfast wasn't what I thought it would be they really didn't have much to offer but it was free and it was good. When we would ask for new towels or anything at all for that matter the house keeping staff were always there in less than two minutes. Everyone made us feel very comfortable and welcomed. The room was clean everything worked properly and over all it was amazing. They were just amazing and I loved it. I'll deff be staying again next year when I visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deonna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 6 days. We had NO problems with bedbugs, fights, drug dealers etc. Sean at the front desk was WONDERFUL!!! He brought towels and menus and whatever else we needed right up to our room. TJ was GREAT as well. Our children had a blast at this hotel feeding the ducks everyday at the waterside. The room was clean and smelled fresh and the air conditioner was soooo cold my daughter asked if we had a sweatshirt in the car she could put on. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!! Thanks for the great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
1.4 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
6.6 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
3.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TP Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TP Hotel

Property: TP Hotel
Address: 2 W Water St, New Jersey Parkway Exit # 81, Toms River, NJ 08753-7472 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TP Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your TP Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Toms River
Toms River Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Toms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing