We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Artisan's Brewery & Italian Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Artisan's Brewery & Italian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 299 Restaurants in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bey Lea
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very disappointed. Have eaten here when it was Basil T's and liked it. We had a very poor experience this last visit. We got our drinks fine and then ordered our food. We ordered a large salad to split between the table and then waited what seemed like a half hour to get the salad. Two of our five entrees were good, the pizza and the eggplant parmigiana the chicken francais was horrible. The chicken needed to be pounded so it was thinner and more tender. The sauce was goopy and had no flavor. I had to ask for salt and pepper to give it taste. The gnocchi also had no flavor. I even heard the table behind us ask for salt and pepper. Again very disappointed. Our bill was 160.00 before tip for 5 entrees and a salad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    39
    17
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beer & Pasta!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It's a brew pub AND a fine Italian restaurant. Handcrafted brews AND excellent gourmet-style food! It's like a combo made in heaven!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2 after work- to relax-unwind”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We both had a delicious dinner, after work we wanted to relax and enjoy a good meal and we loved the meal !! The waitress was very efficient and the Veal Piccata and Scallops with black bean rice and avocado were excellent. P.S. We have had the great early bird deals and I would recommend them as a great value for your money

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LornaBeachwood_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Used to love it, but never again”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

After a relatively horrible experience here, I called and spoke with the manager. I do not live in the area, but the relatives I was dining with do. The manager that I spoke with stated that she would send them a gift card to return and that she was very sorry that we had a bad experience. Two months later, no gift card. Terrible customer service. Don't say something if you don't plan to follow through.

Helpful?
3 Thank OneLittleCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Same food choices in the bar and restaurant - Early bird is great!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My experience with Artisan's (formerly called Basil T's) is eating in the bar area.

Always check to see what the special of the night is. It will be your best value. Some nights is it 1/2 price pizza or 1/2 price wine, burger/brew, discount off of appetizers, discount off of drinks.

I highly recommend this bar for happy hour. They provide some free food (sandwich and pasta) and great drink specials.

By far the best value here is the Early Bird Special dinners. They are offered daily until 5:30pm. You get soup, salad, main dish and dessert for $13.95. I had the salmon. It was a great deal especially because since you are there early, you also get the happy hour drink specials.

If you are not there early, the menu can be a bit pricey with the main dishes up to $25.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan's Brewery & Italian Grill also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Artisan's Brewery & Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing