We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant Breeze”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bahama Breeze

Bahama Breeze
Reserve with OpenTable
Bahama Breeze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 296 Restaurants in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
manchester, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant Breeze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A happy decor and pleasant for lunch inside or outside. Loved the menu--a nice change from Italian. Have been four times and sampled different selections and enjoyed each one. Wait staff is pleasant and efficient, but it does tend to be a bit noisy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alicia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    60
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good to very good food. Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food, as stated, is "Caribbean" style. Its a little spicy, but most is not bad at all re: spiciness. My daughter-n-law had the fish tacos, which looked great, plenty of fish in there. The tacos were on the larger side compared to several other places I have been too. My wife and I had the grilled swordfish with mango salsa. The swordfish were both cooked perfectly, but alone, were a little bland. The mango salsa was good. So, just a "good" for the swordfish and salsa. Chicken curry bowl and firecracker shrimp appetizers were (I was told) good to very good. I had a glass of their "Aruba red" beer. I enjoyed that very much. And for dessert, I was told that the Key Lime pie was "very sweet." Thus the rating of good to very good on the food side.
The atmosphere was neat, along the lines of a tropical setting. As far as the wait staff, I think they were very helpful and friendly. Definitely no complaints there

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richg635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a let down :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I waited a couple of months for the staff to work it out and the crowds to die down ... Average food and drink and staff only the work force of central south jersey could provide if you must go go for happy hour at least you won't feel bad for the Water downed drinks..... Orlando even cherry hill it is a whole different experience go there if you want the true bahama breeze experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mda1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A poor relation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have long enjoyed the food, music, and libations at Bahama Breeze in Ft. Myers, FL. So I was thrilled when a sister restaurant opened up in Wayne, NJ. While Wayne didn't have Florida's palm trees and balmy air, the menu and drinks were just as good...in fact, identical to the Florida version. Now, Bahama Breeze comes to Ocean County, NJ, and I'm elated...until I actually went.
On any given day, the bar, dining area, and outside tables are packed, but here's what these folks don't know. The food isn't even close to its sister restaurants. Their signature appetizer, firecracker shrimp, is greasy, and the chicken quesadillas are positively devoid of chicken. Some entrees were good, i.e. and the almond-crusted salmon, the grilled chicken salad, and the Cuban sandwich. But Rebecca's key lime pie came on a warm plate and was melting as we ate it. The real disappointment, however, is the bar service. While the specialty drinks are par for the course, don't order a scotch on the rocks, for you'll receive a miniscule glass filled to the brim, with rocks and a paucity of scotch. What a disappointment! I realize that it takes time for a restaurant to establish a rhythm, but it's been months now, and this Toms River Breeze is simply a poor relation to its delicious and charming sister establishments.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJJaneEyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dont rush to get there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had been to the one in Orlando in April, we enjoyed it so much we ate there on two other occasions. Because of our wonderful experience,we were so excited when one opened up two miles from our home. That excitement was short lived. The soup I ordered was luke warm at best and the rice bowl i ordered tasted like they used minute rice. There was no salt and pepper shakers on the table and the service was just "okay". The restaurant has been open for about month and should have these things worked out already. We will wait to go back to Orlando.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acucch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahama Breeze also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Bahama Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing