We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LIke the tea room”

Hana Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #189 of 297 Restaurants in Toms River
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“LIke the tea room”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I really didnt care for the food but the atmospher eating in the tea room is nice... where you sit lower than the table....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cancun732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Long-time Favorite for Hibachi”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This is the original Japanese/Hibachi restaurant to come to the Toms River area. Not as fancy as some of the newer ones but for me it still has the best Hibachi in town.

Helpful?
Thank Leevin_soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best sushi in Ocean County”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Thick excellent sushi, great soups and side dishes Staff could not be nicer or more efficent..Much better than Osaka or Shogun

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“. Best Japanese restaurant in the county”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My wife and I have been going to HaNa Japanese restaurant restaurant for 20 years, before there was ever any Japanese restaurants in Toms River. The staff is wonderful, pleasant and always smiling. Jack and his wife, the owners are the gracious and always willing to make sure your enjoying your food.
The sushi is always fresh, the Hibachi is the best in the area. Compared to Benihana, Shogun, and the rest of the myriad of Japanese restaurants that have opened up, Hana is heads above, both for the money, the staff, the quality of food and the coziness of the restaurant. I've traveled to Japan numerous times on business, and I would rather be at HaNa. His $7.00 lunch special, and his $8.95 hibachi lunch special is the best in the area. The best of the best.

Joe & Ruth Albanese

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reporter1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“good sushi bad service”
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I always go for the large pieces of sushi they serve, but the service is always rude! Started ordering in it got so bad. Then sushi was inconsistent and had to send some rotten pieces back. Try somewhere else in T.R.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lodee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Hana Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing