We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANK GOD IT CLOSED IT'S DOORS”
Review of Nuova Luna - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nuova Luna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delicious NEW restaurant.
Jackson, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“THANK GOD IT CLOSED IT'S DOORS”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Food is OK but the service is horrible. We waited for someone to come and ask us if we wanted the wine opened for a half hour. They opened the wine put it on the table with no wine glasses. After nearly begging for two glasses we finally got them. It took us over three hours from start to finish due to the poor service

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    3
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Toms River and Oakhurst”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This restaurant and it's creative Chef Umberto are both delightful and delicious! The food is lovingly prepared by it's Chef, owner of both the Toms River location and the new Oakhurst location. The menu is diverse and the food fresh and full of flavor. The atmosphere and a piano player only adds to the ambiance. Definitely a hidden gem in both locations not to miss! See you there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlyBeveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No clue....”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Tonight we wanted to try a new place and decided to try the # 1 rated place in Toms River according to Travel Advisor. We called an made a reservation for 830. We entered the place and was greeted by the hostess who sat us promptly. We then sat for 15-20 minutes before we were acknowledged by the waiter. After looking at the menus an finally placing an order we sat and drank our bottle of wine while we waited.....and waited.... and waited. We did not even receive a basket of bread until the singer who was up front acknowledged us and went in the back and got us a basket of bread. He mentioned to us that a waiter and one kitchen staff had called in an were a little short staffed.Finally our appetizer of drunken clams showed up which was not bad. We then began our wait again for our dinner to be served. After one hour and fourty five minutes waiting and our meal no where in sight I threw in the towel an put 20 dollars on the table and we left. About 45 minutes later I received a call from the chef/owner apologizing about our bad experience and offering for us to go back and have dinner on him. I suspect this place will not be in business long as they have no clue on how to run the place. They should hire the singer to manage the place as he seemed like the only one who had a clue. I can also say to the other patron who got up and sang a song and made a comment about me after he finished his song that he is lucky he got to eat his meal because he doesn't know how close he was to losing some of his teeth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladder132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Returned here for second chance... glad we did”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Chef Umberto really came through with a five-star meal for our party of six. The chopped salad was just right, the mussels and clams were in such a tasty broth, I just wanted to keep dunking bread in it. Everyone was happy this time with their meals, from the snapper to the mixed grill to the Italian paella.

I also want to note that David provided very nice service throughout the dinner. We enjoyed the music as well. And I had the best tiramisu for dessert.. rich and creamy.. and homemade.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loulombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great time, delicious food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A group ten of us went to Nuova Luna on December 22nd for our annual Christmas get-together. When calling for reservations, Humberto, one of the owners, went out of his way to make a nice table in the back for us.

We ordered different appetizers that we all shared, and everything was delicious. One of the more unusual appetizers was an eggplant meatball special which was so good, none of us ever had anything like that before. We all enjoyed our dinners. We were not rushed at all, and the service was exceptional.

Joey B, "man of a thousand voices" was so much fun and he really got us in the Christmas spirit, we were all singing along with him, both Christmas carols and some oldies too.

We will definitely be going back to Nuova Luna in the near future!

DebK

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuova Luna also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing