We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent”
Review of Hot Tomato Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Hot Tomato Italian Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My favorite dish is the fusilli with sausage. I always start off with their signature capri salad, a blend of arugula, proscuiiti, & mozzarella. They were very busy thie past Saturday night and the staff was overwhelmed. Usually the service is good but was lacking that night. They did not have enough menus and diners were delayed in ordering their meals. Parking here is always a challenge sine there are only 9 spaces in their lot.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TMOWNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A taste of perfection in every meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nate and his staff are committed to providing the most amazing food at a reasonably price with excellence in customer experience. Living in Toms River it seems we are surrounded by Italian Restaurants. Hot Tomato is always a certainty for culinary excellence. The ambiance is calm and serene. Bring your own is a major plus. The dedication to delivering the highest quality meal to his customers is certainly Nate's motto. I have recommended this place to everyone I know and have only received "thank you" and "perfect meal" as feed back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pammonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic dishes!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

A family favorite, we've been coming here for years and always enjoy great food. Being very picky about our "gravy" this is about as authentic as it gets outside of Sicily. Their bolognese sauce is especially thick and loaded with meat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD ...CLOSE TO HOME”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food at Hot Tomato is consistently good.\, portions are generous and the variety of choices is good. Their home made sausage and fusilli is my favorite although we have hade many of the dishes here and enjoyed them all. Small restaurant and hard to get into on weekends but worth the try!! BYOB , so bring your favorite spirit and big appetite!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good Italian menu”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is consistently well prepared, portions are generous and the pricing is moderate. It is fairly close to my home and always a favorite.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Tomato Italian Restaurant also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing