We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Style so You Will Never Finish....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivoli's - CLOSED

Rivoli's
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A great rest. with waiting lines every night. Been there for years.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family Style so You Will Never Finish....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great food. It is family style so you will get a lot to eat. The staff is great and the owner and wife are always there. Tight quarters but worth it. My only issue was when you order a coke they give you a can. Tacky, but livable for the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    41
    26
    22
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I have heard so much about this restaurant so during our little getaway in seaside we went to rivolis for dinner. When you pull up to the restaurant you question whether you are at the right place. The outside is strip mall looking and when you walk in everything is so dated and dark. The Staff was very friendly and welcoming. We ordered apps along with our meals. The portions were ginormous! The food was good but not as homemade as I was expecting. You do definitely get a lot for the money you spend. Next time if we do to back we will definitely skip the apps because of how big the portions are. A lot of food went to waste

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Egsmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Massive Portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We ate here during a road trip in April. The food was very good with the biggest portions I have ever been served. Prices are ridiculously affordable. The dessert selection was an eloquent work of art. The staff was friendly and attentive. Only downside is that you have to bring your own wine.?.? How disappointing. If I lived local I would eat here religiously.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkennedy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The quality of this place has dropped drastically over the past few years. It used to be a good, quiet family spot with great food but it seems that the owner became Jersey Shore obsessed once those tools started coming here. There is a shrine on the wall of these people and they sell tshirts with their corny sayings. The staff has become less friendly and I've even overheard the owner being rude to customers. The quality of the food has deteriorated and it all seems rushed. It's a shame because this place used to be good, but i will no longer be returning along with dozens of other locals who feel the same way.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LuAnne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What happened to large portions?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Come here once a year to retry with wife and each time l'm disappointed in something. This time i got veal topped with eggplant. Place is known for large portions, dish was tasty with decent portion of pasta, while eating i uncovered veat which had large longe eggplant slice over it and noticed small portion of meat. Dish was not worth the price.
Overall place could use updating as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dimo10532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivoli's also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing