We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time - Great River Cruise - A Bargain”
Review of River Lady

River Lady
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The River Lady is a 150 passenger, authentic reproduction of a paddle wheel riverboat which splendidly captures the ambiance of a 19th century Mississippi paddleboat. She is the only stern-wheeler in the state of New Jersey. We offer sightseeing, lunch and dinner cruises, while sailing down the Toms River into the Barnegat Bay. Please see our website for details.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Time - Great River Cruise - A Bargain”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Twelve (12) of us booked the River Lady in Toms River, NJ on August 22, 2012.
The vessel was immaculate (clean). The service was very good. The food was very good. The wine & beer reasonably priced. The trip was a bargain price ($32.).

We were seated on the open upper deck at 2 tables for 6 each. The soft drinks, prior to sailing were complementary. Once we departed they served wine & beer (no hard liquor). Our table of six people ordered 2 bottles of wine and 3 beers...the total price was $52. Now that's not bad.

The six at our table ordered both the chicken & salmon dinners. The quantity and quality were very good. The service was great...the staff very attentive.

The twilight cruise up the Toms River to Barnegat Bay was very nice.

If you're looking for something special to do in the Toms River/Sea Side Heights area I highly recommend the River Lady cruise.

Also, seniors (over 65) get a $5 discount.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Virgin Island Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    18
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shore”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Always a great place in the summer vacation. Clean beaches and water. Restaurants galore wiy
Th the best seafood anywhere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank donna121246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“River Lady Lunch Cruise”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I took my 11 year old granddaughter on the Wednesday Lunch Cruise.
The food and friendly service was excellent. My only complaint she did not care for cheese cake and they should have had some other choice for kids. Food is catered by Cheesecake Factory but still, how about some chocolate cookies?
I enjoyed the info from the cruise director and my granddaughter liked the observation deck, plus we learned things which we had not previously known of the Barnegat Bay area. The T-shirts they sell for kids for $8.00 are really nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larabe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best river boat ride”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We went on the river lady paddlewheel boat on Toms River and the Bay. It was the best paddlewheel boat I have been on. The have kept the boat just like it was in the old days. The molding inside is a nice wood and the door going into the eating area is beautiful. Even the bathrooms are nice. You learn and see alot about the history in the area. It was a interesting and fun ride. They have t-shirt that say I paddled down Toms River for $10.00

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank larabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A "Cruise" on the Toms River”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The River Lady sails on the Toms River from the town of Toms River, NJ out to the Barnegat Bay passing the towns of Island Heights, South Toms River, Beachwood and Ocean Gate along the way. It is an elegant paddlewheeler with two distinct personalities. Downstairs is more formal with lovely Victorian decor. It is enclosed with plenty of windows for scenic viewing. Upstairs is open and more informal. The cruises vary with some offering lunch or dinner, others include entertainment. In addition to being one of the prettiest paddle wheelers on the coast, the River Lady is somewhat unique in her paddle's being split. It allows her to turn in tight places and makes her very maneuverable. The food is delicious and it's linen table service with real silverware. The least expensive way to go is the cruise alone. It also includes a narrated tour that includes some history and the captain points out interesting sites along the way. A map of the route is available for a nominal price, and I recommend buying one both as an inexpensive momento of the trip and as a guide for the tour. If you have a hearing challenge and you are interest in hearing the narration, I recommend staying downstairs as it's easier to hear the narration in the enclosed area. She is docked right in downtown Toms River within walking distrance of Main St. (State Highway 166) and about one mile from Exit 81 of the Garden State Parkway. They do take groups.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank NJ-Surfcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Lady also viewed

 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to River Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing