We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Not what the storefront suggests at all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Serenity Cafe

The Serenity Cafe
Ranked #8 of 294 Restaurants in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone number 732 270 2088
Island Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Not what the storefront suggests at all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've eaten here too many times to count with my husband and a few friends. In an area starving for upscale dining, we finally have a true gem in Toms River. The menu changes every 2/3 weeks, and typically will offer a selection across all preferences - seafood, beef, chicken, veal, pork. And fabulously they have many gluten free options as well. The buffalo calamari is an appetizer that is ALWAYS on the menu, because it simply is the BEST buffalo calamari you will ever have. Tender, tender, with just the right amount of heat in the buffalo. And I don't even like calamari, but I have it every time we go to Serenity. Shrimp fra diavolo - perfection! Steak au poivre - best I've ever had!! This New Year's Eve was a 5 course fixed menu that top to bottom was literally was the best meal I've ever had.

The staff is courteous and professional, the restaurant clean and modern. Reservations are pretty much required, particularly on weekends. Expect to open your wallet a bit, but it's worth every penny.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyJulie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Jersey shore restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Another BYOB shore restaurant that stands heads over the typical shore place. The menu changes every 3 weeks with beef, chicken, pork or several fish on the menu. We think that the fish is the best but we have never had a bad meal. The calamari app is the best that I ever had. Service is efficient and friendly. They know the menu!! We have been here almost every time the menu changes and recently came back twice in the same week because there were several dished that we wanted to try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rm209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced for a Strip Mall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a group of eight meet at Serenity for dinner. The menu has some nice choices and the place is BYOB. However, the prices for appetizers and entrees are very high for a small store front in a highway strip mall. It's worth going once and forming your own opinion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken_NJ_11islands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I went here for my birthday dinner with my family and I could not be happier with my meal. Server was very nice as well.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
411 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Not really a cafe... Much too upscale. Not a place you would just wander into as it is located at the end of an undistinguished strip center. But, the food is generally really good. Fresh, tasty, creative, nicely presented, frequent specials, excellent bread, home made ice cream. A bit cramped and noisy. Service is good but not great... Not very attentive to details like refilling water. BYOB. About $75 for 2 with coffee and a shared dessert,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Howie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Serenity Cafe also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Serenity Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing