We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun”

Insectropolis, the Bugseum of New Jersey
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Toms River
Attraction details
Monroe, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited Insectropolis twice recently. The first time was with our grandchildren, ages 5 and 7 1/2. The second time with our 11 1/2 year old grandson. It was enjoyed by all. The grandsons touched some of the insects. I touched them all. They also enjoyed the bee and ants exhibit. Overall, a fun learning experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CCH1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, NC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our sons loved it. They offer a chance to touch some of the creepy crawlers. My boys and husband loved it, I just sat on the inside. It was set up well, creatively done. We would go back again. If I lived closer we would want a birthday party there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NCmomBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Not as creepy as it sounds”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have taken our grandson to this small but interesting museum several times. For anyone, child or adult, who has an interest in insects, spiders etc there is a great deal to see and learn.
There are many exhibits with mounted and live specimens and interactive exhibits as well. The hands-on demonstration where visitors have the opportunity to hold and touch various insects, which the children find especially fascinating, is great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TouringTwoTimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“small but fun”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We got rained out one day while visiting Seaside Heights. So, we went looking for something else to do. We found ourselves at the bug museum. Its a great please to entertain the kids for a few hours.

The staff was friendly. The exhibits were entertaining as well as educational. The only complaint was that it left us wanting to see more. Its not a destination, but if you find yourself in the area looking for something to do, check it out. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tragosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing like starting the day touching a scorpion!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went here on a whim this past Saturday. It was fantastic! The museum displays were amazing especially the walking sticks and honey bees. We especially liked the show and tell and the staff -
Jess was great with the crowd and kids. The store also has lots of cool educational gifts for kids and adults. A great experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Avalon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Insectropolis, the Bugseum of New Jersey also viewed

 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Insectropolis, the Bugseum of New Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing