We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food for the price”
Review of Il Giardinello

Il Giardinello
Ranked #5 of 297 Restaurants in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Very good food, service excellent from menu to main course and them it pretend out. Never came to ask how food was, took forever to get dessert menu, forever to get the check.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiggerDan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    73
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Jersey Shore area favorite.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is our #1 favorite in the Tom's River/Seaside Heights area. We were there on Labor Day weekend. They must be doing something right because as many times as we have been there, this place is always full.
The Northern Italian menu is full of origional and traditional offerings. The preparation is meticulous and always as you requested. All the waite staff is knowledgeable regarding specials and menu items alike. Friendly and helpful describes the team at Il Giardinello.
Prices are competitive with the area and, you will love the wine you have with dinner as this place is a BYO!
Cons: I hesitated to write this review because Il Giardinello is already very popular. On Friday and Saturday nights you should arrive early or be prepared to wait for a table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Like eating in heaven”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My favorite all time restaurant, bar none. Veal parm - nothing more tender, shrimp fra diavlo- divine, heavenly, Chiliean Sea Bas - the best ever, Looking forward to going again next week.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mimisstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida and New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Service Good Food and Romantic Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I went with another couple and enjoyed a quiet, delicious, well served meal with good wine. I recommend it for a romantic meal as well.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ASeas0nedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very, VERY good food!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here while at our shore house, and while its a bit off the beach - it's worth the trip. Bill - our waiter has been with the restaurant for 25 years - and probably one of the best waiters I've ever had. True - the house salad is fantastic. How can you make an oil and vinegar dressing delicious like this - I don't know - but they do it! Semolina bread, fresh and warm. We had the Oysters Amalfi, I would say while tasty, was the low light of the meal. I had the halibut special, served with clams and scallops over angel hair in a light white wine sauce - amazing. Our party also had the soft shell crabs with brocolli rabe - A++! While it's simply a store front restaurant - the line for the wait was a mile long. Ambiance, ehhhh. Wait staff, fantastic. Will definately visit again. If you use a coupon - please tip your staff on the price of your meal BEFORE the discount.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardinello also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Il Giardinello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing