We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always part of our trip”
Review of El Familiar

El Familiar
Ranked #26 of 297 Restaurants in Toms River
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“always part of our trip”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

When in TR, we make a point of eating at El Familiar. We always have an excellent meal. You start with great chips. Definitely order the guacamole. The tacos (we love the chicken mole) are delicious. The food is authentic, the service super friendly, the prices can't be beat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT SERVICE ****”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I are really fun of this amazing place. I'm really picky when somebody invite me to eat Mexican food, but let me tell you the food here is real Mexican/Colombian, They have always fresh food, fresh mean not frozen, you can taste it, it's yummy. We tried the steak tacos, great, some plantains, guacamole with chips, who can say no to the chips right?, pork tinga tostada, always yummy fresh pork mixed with tomatoes, onion and chipotle, not hot at all, nice flavor, on the top lettuce and sour cream, overall all the lunch/dinner it's always

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This restaurant is mine and my boyfriend's go to restaurant when we're in the mood for real authentic Mexican food. The portions are large, the food is flavorful, and the servers are always very nice. You can bring your own wine/beer and the homemade salsa is top notch! It's a hidden gem in a strip mall off on Route 9 in Toms River. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastgirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
169 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Mexican is better than the Colombian”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wonderful chips for the salsa, great guacamole, passable Mexican food, and simply awful Colombian deep fried everything. We tried a Mexican Combo meal and a Colombian Combo meal. The deep fried bacon included the outer skin so it was somewhat like southern cracklings. The place was clean and the staff helpful and knowledgeable. We observed other patrons who seemed to be enjoying their food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
415 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Pork Tinga is the BEST!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Love this place, located in a strip mall it's a BYOB with a really great menu. Much variety and the pork tinga is one of the best things on the menu. Great service too. Prices are reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sirena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Familiar also viewed

 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to El Familiar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing