We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel and Service Ever !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Toms River
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel and Service Ever !!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

If I could rate this any lower I would. A/C did not work, window did not open, around 3:30 I called for the second time and beg to see if they had a fan, they send one and the girl explained to me how to work the A/C which by the way it only works with a remote control. she wanted to go into the room but my boyfriend was sleeping. She did show me and I am not a stupid person that does not understand things. I went back to the room and tried just like she said and still no A/C. Spend all night really warm and uncomfortable. there was also a desk light that did not turn on light bulb gone out and the toilet did not flush properly. In the morning I call to speak to the manager Patricia and was told she does not work on Sundays. I called Complain Dept at Comfort inn they took down the complain and told me that the manager would call me. I had to contact her and when I spoke to her she told me everything in the room was working and that I should of gotten inside the drawer the instructions on how to operate the A/C ! That she needs Sunday because that is her only day she can have off. and that the girl took a chance coming to the room because there are a lot of people that could of attacked her. I told her that I never stayed at a hotel where I had to go to a drawer to read the instructions for an A/C unit. and I did know how to use it but it was not working. She told me No that it was working because everything at her hotel works. I told her what can you do for me. she said she and give me $10.00 !! I called Corporate they said since this is a franchise they can't do anything about it.. They called back Patricia and she offered now a whopping $20.00 ! I have never seen this type of Customer Service from a Hotel and a Corporate office. My boyfriend now called on 10/30/13 at 12:45pm to speak to her but Patricia was gone for the day, seems like she also needs Wednesdays off. So if you want to pay $110.00 to sleep in a very hot room, be insulted because THERE A/C NEVER BREAKS it is YOU the guest that does not know how to turn it on well this is the place to be. For me I will never stay at another Comfort Inn again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivienne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Toms River, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so sorry that you felt so upset to respond in the manner that you did. We here strive to make everything right during and after your stay. Unfortunately, you checked in extremely late on a sold out night and we were not able to accommodate you with another room.
The issues of which you spoke could have been resolved right there on the spot but you chose not to let us enter the room.
I answer with honesty and expect the same from others. There is no issue that must be answered right on the spot by a manager when fdc's can resolve them to the best of their ability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    66
    19
    12
    12
See reviews for
78
44
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arrived without reservation, front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful.
The room was quiet and clean and the bed was super comfortable.
We did not take advantage of the pool or the breakfast, but both were easily accessible. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyP630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Toms River, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Chrisy,
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond so favorably. We here at the Comfort Inn work as a team to try and make your stay as pleasant as posible. We hope to se you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights last week to visit family. GREAT STAY. Quiet. Clean. Great breakfast. Home made cookies about five pm. Never heard a bit of noise. Loads of parking. Breakfast area spotless. Free newspaper. Free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Toms River, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for responding so favorably. My staff and I appreciate all comments and strive to make everyone's stay a fantastic one. We pride ourselves on cleanliness, friendliness and the best fresh baked cookies every day. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The king room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable. The breakfast was also nice. The front desk staff was very nice. wish I had had time to enjoy the courtyard and swing

Did think the highway noise was a little loud at night.

Room Tip: choose a room near the back so you don't hear road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photogal205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Toms River, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for positive response on Trip Advisor. We work very hard here to make your stay as comfortable as possible and take pride as a team to keep our hotel as perfect as possible.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Respectfully,
Patricia Brecka
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

After returning to our room at this Comfort Inn in Toms River,2215 Rt 37 EAST, I processed to turn down the bed. Only to find some BLACK objects & black smudges on the sheets !! I called the front desk for 1/2 hour. It was busy busy busy ! I took the black pieces and put them on a piece of paper. In the morning I talked to the front desk woman with the black things in tow ! She proceeded to tell me it was from the AC unit blowing on to the sheets !!. I wasn't born yesterday . If it indeed was dirt from the AC in between the sheets WHY DIDN'T THE ROOM ATTENDANT CHANGE THE SHEETS !! Also WHY AREN'T THE AC FILTERS CHANGED !! The manager was not in the Hotel at the time & I wasn't compensated .I was told to call Patricia Brecka in the morning (Monday). When I did call I was told she was on the other line to leave a messege. I did that indeed & it's 2 days later & still no response ! I will not recommend This Comfort Inn because of the lack of concern for it's guests Comfort ! Also the lack of cleaniness !!

Room Tip: WE STAYED IN ROOM 308, THE SMELL OF CIGARETTE SMOKE WAS HEAVY IN THE HALLWAY.. There was dirt under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Toms River, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Ms.Katsaros,
I am so sorry to hear that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We here at the Comfort Inn Toms River strive for perfection.
I will not make any excuses for not responding to you other than I was not at the hotel......I had some personal time off.If you wish to reach me again, I will respond except on my days off.
Respectfully,
Patricia Brecka
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff was so kind , pleasant and helpful ! The female manager was wonderful she made our stay one of the best experiences we have ever had. She took such pride in the hotel she is an asset to your company. We would most definitely stat at this Comfort Inn again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent service friendly,knowledgeable and at your sevice place slept and stayed very comfortably for a week here, clean hotel,rooms clean,breakfast excellent. Lots to do in area 2 mins from beaches 10 mins from shopping and restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
2.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
5.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
8.0 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
3.5 mi away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Toms River

Property: Comfort Inn Toms River
Address: 2215 Route 37 E, Toms River, NJ 08753-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel with indoor heated pool and spa, fitness center, plasma tv's & dvd players in all rooms, wireless internet and a continental breakfast with waffles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toms River Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing