We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tinton Falls
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Courtyard looks very nice when you arrive. It is close to the Garden State Parkway and the surrounding area is very pleasant. The staff was very courteous and the common areas and lobby were recently updated and very nice. The problems started when we went to bed and learned that the walls were made of cardboard (not really, but it seemed that way). The noise was terrible. We were in the middle of the second floor and could hear every door close, every conversation in the hall and every ding dong of the elevator which was 5 rooms away. When someone took a shower on the third floor (at 4AM) I thought we were in a major storm. The Wi Fi is free and very good.
This property has a small restaurant with no complimentary breakfast and no complimentary coffee. The wait for service was excessive because the 2 ladies were taking orders, making coffee drinks and serving the tables. They were trying hard but could not keep up. I am not an expert but I do not understand a marketing strategy where a Marriott Fairview Inn is lower in price and breakfast is free and a Courtyard is more expensive and you pay for a mediocre breakfast and no free coffee. Especially since the rooms are similar.
All in all it was a very disappointing stay and not up to Marriott standards. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETJ36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfcourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize for the noise issues you experienced within the hotel and would be happy to investigate them further. We understand your desire for a complimentary breakfast; however, the Courtyard Marriott brand standard is the new Bistro concept, offering a full breakfast menu, dinner menu, full bar, and Starbucks coffees, teas, and espresso beverages. Due to this brand positioning, we are unable to offer a complimentary breakfast. However, we do offer spectacular packages that include breakfast bundled into the room rate. In regards to coffee, as aforementioned, Courtyard has upgraded their coffee options to include Starbucks coffees, teas, and espresso drinks through our Bistro restaurant; complimentary coffee remains available to all guests in their rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having heard a friend rave about the Courtyard chain, I expected more from my first visit. The rooms were small, there was no kitchenette (only a very small refrigerator), and there was not a complimentary breakfast. The main plus was that there was no problem withInternet access.

During the trip to the area, I stayed at the Eatontown Staybridge, which I would recommend over the Courtyard. pluses of the Courtyard include proximity to Route 18 and the GSP and restaurants and other commercial establishments within walking distance.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfcourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay. Unfortunately, Courtyard Marriotts do not offer full kitchens in their rooms. However, we are happy to provide refrigerators and microwaves in our guest rooms. We understand your wishes for a complimentary breakfast; however, the Courtyard Marriott brand standard is the new Bistro concept, offering a full breakfast menu, dinner menu, full bar, and Starbucks coffees, teas, and espresso beverages. Due to this brand positioning, we are unable to offer a complimentary breakfast. However, we do offer spectacular packages that include breakfast bundled into the room rate. These package are available to everyone, from the single traveler up to a family of four.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stay in Courtyards by Marriott because I have had good experiences with them. The service I have had on two stays in this Courtyard lift it to the top of the Courtyard ranks. On the most recent stay Gina at the front desk resolved a problem I had with my laptop (and nicely taught me about the computer), and Glenn programmed my wife's Garmin. The people at the front desk were always polite and cheerful in answering questions about traffic and where to go for meals, and the staff in general gave the impression that they could not do enough for us. The hotel was clean, well organized, and secure, which is what I expected, but the service and friendly attitude in this Courtyard is above even the normal good service. We will be guests again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upsilon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfcourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel! Excellent customer service is a top priority for us, and we are happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. We have shared your comments with our associates and we truly appreciate your comments. Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and we hope you are able to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is an older property but well kept overall. The staff was okay but nothing special. I stayed for 3 months and never felt at home like I have at many Hilton properties through the years. A few suggestions to the GM would be: softer, larger bath towels; top bed sheets and comforter be positioned to the top of the bed, not at the bottom of the pillow...you have to either sleep with your feet at the absolute end of the bed or pull the covers and loosen them in order to snuggle them under your chin to sleep...I was told it was a new "corporate policy"; a small table to fold cloths in the laundry room as well as a small wastebasket (for tossing lint from dryer, etc.) and a chair would be nice/convenient; and last but not least, free coffee in the lobby. While this is a full-service hotel with a restaurant, I still feel complimentary coffee just shows appreciation to customers - and it would not have to be Starbucks which is available in the restaurant for purchase. Overall, it was a convenient and nice place to stay and maybe shorter stays would be more enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms are typically quiet b/c not much traffic, etc. noise but they are a little on the small si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tildy9423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfcourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your suggestions and will certainly share them with our Housekeeping Supervisor. Courtyard Marriott hotels have upgraded their coffee offerings to Starbucks through our Bistro restaurant, however complimentary coffee remains available to all guests in their rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful staff, food is okay not great, had the burger & fries, the service was good. Side door is broken and has been for 2 weeks, huge inconveniece walking around through the lobby everyday. There are no free ameniaties. Initially they provided free coffee in the morning and stopped after 2 weeks of my arrival. For you starbucks lovers its on tap. Conveniently located to resturants and shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshineldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfcourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our staff services and are always happy to hear comments such as yours. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experience with the side entrance. There was an intermittent mechanical default hat we have had corrected. In regards to coffee, Courtyard has upgraded their coffee options to include Starbucks coffees, teas, and espresso drinks through our Bistro restaurant; complimentary coffee remains available to all guests in their rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed again recently at the Marriott Courtyard in Tinton Falls, NJ just off Exit 105 of the Garden State Parkway. We stay here about 6 times a year or more. It is an "easy on/easy off" from the GSP and close to the Jersey Shore locations of Middletown, Red Bank, Eatontown, Tinton Falls, Monmouth Park Racetrack, and Monmouth University, among others. It is always safe, clean, and friendly. The little Bistro has some tasty breakfast, lunches and dinner meals. It has a very nice pool, laundry facilities, and a cozy little work-out room. It is close to Monmouth Mall and a number of really good restaurants. There are several within a short walking distance of the hotel. We stayed on Marriott Points this time; but the rates are usually fairly reasonable for the area, especially on weekends and/or with senior or other discounts. It always feels like home when we come back to the little Courtyard.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. It is only a three story hotel. We always get a King Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CptCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfcourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are happy to hear that our hotel location fits your needs for your trips to the Jersey Shore! Courtyard's new Bistro restaurant for breakfast and dinner has been a favorite among our guests, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoy it also! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

this is a nice hotel, located near the major highways and close to restaurants and shopping centers. Friendly staff but a bit on the expensive side. most comfortable hotel beds ever. hotel is on the small side but it was nice

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfcourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our hotel was convenient for your trip and that our staff was able to accommodate your needs. We hope you're able to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinton Falls
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tinton Falls - Eatontown
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Eatontown
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Tinton Falls
Residence Inn Tinton Falls
#3 of 4 in Tinton Falls
105 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Lincroft Red Bank
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tinton Falls-Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown

Address: 600 Hope Rd, Tinton Falls, NJ 07724-1275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Tinton Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tinton Falls
Price Range: $116 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the very best in comfort and style at Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown. You will love our NEW rooms, updated lobby, comfortable gathering spaces, free WiFi and The Bistro for breakfast, Starbucks(R) coffee, dinner and evening beer, wine & cocktails! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Tinton Falls Eatontown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tinton Falls Hotel Tinton Falls
Courtyard Tinton Falls
Tinton Falls Courtyard
Tinton Falls Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing