We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service so so food”
Review of Portofino

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Portofino
Ranked #20 of 40 Restaurants in Tinton Falls
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service so so food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our waiter and his runner were some of the nicest people I have ever encountered in a restaurant. The special of grilled octopus was delicious! The rest of the meal was ok, nothing too memorable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too Over Rated and Expensive for the Location and Price”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I went there for a nice quite dinner one evening with 3 of my friends, as I walked in was a taken aback by the size of the restaurant. I was "cozy" To say the most. It was a white table cloth establishment with waiters coming to the table every 5 min. I find this a little overkill. The food was moderate to good. I prices could choke a horse. With a bottle of wine the dinner came to over 300.00, I was still hungry. this place should be on a corner of Broadway and 47th in NYC not on a corner of Water street and Tinton ave in a very modest town. I say go there if you have a deep wallet and time to spend warding off the help.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teothegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not your typical Italian”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Ive been to Portofino many times now, and the food is authentic traditional Italian the was it should be. Clean, fresh, and NOT dripping with cheese and breadcrumb. My parents are from central Italy, I've traveled to Italy countless times throughout my life and Portofino is exactly on point when it comes to Italian food, how its prepared, and the variety of dishes served. I like their homemade pasta. The texture is firm and has the ridges just like in Rome. The bufala mozzarella is lovely, sinple and fresh with olive oil & prosciutto that melts in your mouth.. and bread done right! Everything there is delicious. If you are looking for the typical Italian food you get at the many local restaurants then stick with what your happy with. Im sure there are many who won't think much of Portofino because its not like the typical Italian places around. The food here is light, and clean. Yes, they use cheese and sauce and all those good things but its not heavy because they only cook with olive oil or evoo when needed, and they dont cover the food with a thousand different tastes. You taste the food the way it should be. Many "Italian" restaurants cook with butter and vegetable oil, and thats not Italian. But thats why it tastes so rich. The food here is on a different level.The wine selection is really good too, as well as the cocktails. Wonderful Manhattans and martinis.
Portofino is small and cozy. When I go there I feel like I cant wait to taste whats coming!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MP864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Salvatore and the family have specials all the time. So many that the normal menu is passé.
The wine list is fabulous and the best on the menu has to be the Milanese, whether veal, chicken, or pork. The biggest portions of milanese that you will ever find. Yet the other portions are not so big and overall it is pricey for the area. Nevertheless the service is super and a friendly Italian atmosphere. A Tavola!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giocant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Expensive and Worth It”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've read some of the reviews and I just have to say this in a snarky way. This is a high end restaurant. The wait staff are all men - classic upscale element - and the wine is exquisite. If you are looking for ketchup and that brings you to write a poor review then you are eating in the wrong place. If you are complaining about the time of the meal being extended then you are in the wrong place. If you are complaining about the portions then you are in the wrong place. A fine meal is to be enjoyed, cherished and savored.

Now on to the atmosphere. The room has many tables but is quiet. Why? Because you are surrounded by folks speaking in a civilized tone and taking their time to enjoy the meal. I will also mention a lot of Italians tend to be at the tables which is a good sign for an Italian restaurant.

It's expensive and worth it. It's not for everyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino also viewed

 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing