We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising gem”
Review of Simply Vietnamese

Simply Vietnamese
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Tenafly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NE US
Level Contributor
565 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“A surprising gem”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent lunch here at what turned out to be really busy place at lunch on a Saturday. The food had what to us are traditional Vietnamese flavors. My wife had Pho and I a rice noodle salad with spring rolls. The Pho broth was great. The rice noodle salad portion was large and it had the most spring rolls I have ever had when in any restaurant. I always order this dish in Vietnamese restaurants and it was very good. There were 2 negatives. The Spring rolls had too much wrapper making them thick and chewy. I would not order straight up as an appetizer, but they worked well with in the rice noodles as the dressing softened up the chewy wrappers. The wait staff was at best disinterested. That said we will certainly eat here again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“go once a month”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

simply the best around-always got the salmon, now it's the chicken and beef noodle dish-always fresh,great service,and a warm smile-nothing compares

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wtraeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I didn't think I would like Vietnamese food but the food here is wonderful....especially the Vietnamese Salad with the crushed peanuts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyandbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute Restaurant, Quick Service, but Poor Pho”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The service was quick and efficient and I got my food fast. However, the pho was terrible and I ended up only taking a few bites and leaving the rest there. The server didn't appear to be too concerned about my leaving an entire bowl of food there but I didn't bother asking for something different. I just wanted to go back to my hotel room at that point.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pineapple101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great authentic Vietnamese food”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good food, not much in terms of atmosphere. The spring rolls are a must have. Quick and attentive service

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BusyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Vietnamese also viewed

 

Been to Simply Vietnamese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing