We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice clean well located hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenafly
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice clean well located hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Pleasant little private hotel in the center of Tenafly. Nothing special here. Good bar/restaurant in hotel. Walking distance to the cute shops and restaurants in Tenafly. Room was clean and so was the bathroom. Service was prompt.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rmarcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
rmarcg,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    46
    22
    21
See reviews for
92
37
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montoursville, PA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had the opportunity to visit the Clinton Inn Hotel once again this year. Last year's visit was less than ideal due to the front desk staff. This year's visit, was a completely different experience!

Katherine who was working the front desk Friday night when we checked in, was a dream. She was helpful, pleasant, attentive and everything you could've asked for. She was also working the front desk in the morning, and our check out was a breeze. Thank you!!

Our room this year was leagues better than the one last year. Last year the room was hot and air-conditioning attempts proved futile. This year, room 214 was amazing. The a/c was outstanding, the room was spotless and the amenities were as expected.

We will definitely return, without hesitation!

Room Tip: Room 214 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
pamzanski,
Thank you for your review and return visit with us at the Clinton Inn Hotel. I’m delighted to hear of your pleasant stay and appreciation of our staff member, Katherine. I’ll be certain to award Katherine with a special commendation for her warm hospitality and outstanding service. We’re glad you had an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to extending our hospitality to you again in the near future. Thank you once again for your patronage and review.

Sincerely,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Clinton Inn is a hotel with a long history in the area. The framed newspaper article in the lobby is worth taking the time to read.
Our check-in was fast and efficient. The staff at the front desk, the bar and dining room were all excellent (friendly, patient and helpful).
They have an extensive wine list and the food was delicious. One of our favorites was a margarita pizza with a glass of chianti.
The bus stop is right in front of the hotel so it is convenient to go into the city or any other place. We walked around the quaint town of Tenafly.
If you need a taxi, we would highly recommend The Happy Taxi, operated by Eddie. He is reasonably priced, great service and all around good guy. I'll try and post a separate review.
Our room was clean and contained all the basics. Included daily maid service with clean towels, etc. If you need a hair dryer,however, look in the closet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaboDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
CaboDreamer,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay at the Clinton Inn Hotel. We appreciate your kind comments about our excellent staff and clean accommodations. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms are generous (two double beds), great for price, good restaurant. Front desk service varies -- some of the staff were very very friendly, a few didn't really smile much. The restaurant service though was fantastic, and the wait staff were very helpful and always smiling at customers. A good place to stay if you're in the area, and right in the middle of Tenafly so also convenient if you want to go around the area (some great places to eat there as well).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LVB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
LVB1973,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at the Clinton Inn Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our spacious accommodations, excellent restaurant, and convenient location well suited for your visit. I sincerely apologize that we did not consistently deliver the exceptional customer service that you’ve come to expect from us. Your valuable comments will be shared with our team and improvements will be made in order to provide a more positive experience. We value you as our guest and we hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a great hotel clean and great service. There is also many nice places to eat nearby. It has a great resturant right in the hotel. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to others was an overall great hotel to stay at. I have no compliants for anything at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deestrips22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
deestrips22,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of the Clinton Inn Hotel. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad our clean accommodations and friendly service made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our office in the US is located in NJ and I usually stay at Clinton Inn in Tenafly.
Tenafly is a small town in NJ but it is convenient for me to stay at Clinton Inn because there are several restaurants and a convenience store as well as a supermarket near the hotel.
I usually don't buy anything, but water at the CVS.

Around our office, there are several hotels such as Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn and Hilton Fort Lee.
I stayed those hotels as well until now.
If you have a rent-a-car, it might be the same, but if not, Clinton Inn is the best because it is in a small town and everything is in the walking distance.

I have stayed at Clinton Inn several times a year for more than a decade.
Room itself has been the same and I would say it is just an American standard.
No complaint about the room.

Breakfast is buffet style but meals served on the table are rather limited like scrambled eggs, bacons & sausages, mashed potatoes and some fruits.

I stayed there 4 days. I eat the same menu every morning, because there is not many choices.
From time to time in the past, they changed buffet menu. Sometime in the past, there were Korean noodles and rice and some Asian foods.
There are many Korean living around Fort Lee.
I don't know if it is the case, but there are any Korean are staying at Clinton Inn.
So I sometimes observed so many Koreans were in the breakfast buffet and full of Korean language, which is a little noisy...

People working at the reception have been the same for the decade.
So I know most of them for more than 10 years, but they don't show me any familiarity when I check in and out.
This is the complaint I only have until now.
Otherwise, its service level is quie acceptable.

Room Tip: Nothing particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Machy_MSHRHGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Mack0617,
Thank you for your review and continued patronage at the Clinton Inn Hotel. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we appreciate your feedback on areas where we can improve our guest experience. Please know I have shared your comments with our team so we can do a better job of providing exceptional service. I hope you will give us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for business for an extended period.

+
Location is great. Close to local, large businesses, with a shuttle service provided. Tenafly is small but has a few good places to eat within easy walking distance of the hotel and a decent supermarket. There is a bus service stopping right outside the hotel that runs to the central PABT bus station in Manhattan. Takes a while to get there (#20 or express #166 - 40 mins; normal #166 - 60 mins) but at $6 one way it beats a $40 taxi fare !!

Hotel facilities were unexpectedly good for its star rating. The gym is small but has a good range of equipment. Breakfast buffet was very good. Wi-fi service was free and performed better, even in the public areas of the hotel, than I've had for £15 per day in bigger, more highly rated hotels.

The hotel bar was an oasis after a stressful day in the office. Staff were very friendly and extremely competent - Hi Joey, hi Greg. The menu for bar meals was good enough that I never felt the need to look at the main restaurant menu, though I understand that that was even better. Baseball on the big screen was a bonus, even if the Mets did feature too often.

-
There is no in-room safe and the safety deposit boxes behind reception are only big enough for cash, passport, cards and similar. Given that a lot of the guests here are business visitors, with laptops, tablets and other expensive equipment, this was a major fail and the reason why I have not given the hotel a five blob rating.

Also recommended. The Blue Moon Tex/Mex restaurant in Englewood (short bus or taxi ride) had a great atmosphere and an extensive menu. I only found it on my last evening but wish I'd known about it earlier in my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryLuvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
LuxuryLuvva,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your experience with us at Clinton Inn Hotel. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while on business, and we’re glad our convenient location, wonderful amenities, and friendly staff made for an enjoyable stay. I’ll be certain to pass along your kind comments to Joey and Greg and will also recognize them with a special commendation for their outstanding service. We appreciate your feedback and for bringing your concerns to our attention as we continually strive to improve our guest experience. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenafly
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
4.1 mi away
Teaneck Marriott at Glenpointe
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
HNA Palisades Premier Conference Center
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Lee
BEST WESTERN Fort Lee
#3 of 6 in Fort Lee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center

Property: Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center
Address: 145 Dean Dr, Tenafly, NJ 07670
Location: United States > New Jersey > Tenafly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenafly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Clinton Inn boutique hotel in Tenafly, New Jersey, is close to Englewood, Englewood Cliffs, Fort Lee and is just 30 minutes to New York City. Guest rooms and junior suites offer comfort bedding, a large work area and free high speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour Fitness Center. Dine at delicious Palmer's Crossing Restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Over 12,000 sq ft of flexible event and meeting space for weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, reunions and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clinton Hotel Tenafly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing