We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good suburban business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swedesboro
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good suburban business hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

There is not much in the Swedesboro area, but as a nightly oasis for the business traveler the
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Bridgeport doesa a pretty nice job. The facility is in good shape, the rooms are fine, the staff is pleasant. Pretty much everything you could want. There is no food service beyond the complimentary breakfast but it's a short walk to the bar at the Holiday Inn next door or there are a few chain restaurants within a short drive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gf2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    94
    43
    16
    5
See reviews for
93
58
18
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I'm just going to make this as simple as possible with a list of pros and cons.

Pros:
- Check-in staff were incredibly nice and accomodating. The check in process took about 2 minutes total. Luckily, the hotel wasn't completely booked so we were able to check in early. We were supplied with 2 keys per person (kind of a lot, but I appreciate the extra effort).

- Everything about the hotel appeared to be very clean, from the lobby, to the hallways, to everything in the room itself. The lobby itself looked like it had been recently updated.

- The location, for us, was perfect. It was right off 295, close to the friends that we were visiting, and there was a 24h Wawa next door.

Mediocre:
- The free breakfast is always a nice bonus, but the food was just ok. It was basically 1 step up from the usual "continental breakfast". I've stayed at other Hampton Inns before and they all seem to have many more food options than this one did. I'm pretty sure the eggs were made of powder, and the waffles were just ok.

Cons:
- The door to our room seemed to be paper thin and ultra light. It had no weight to it, and it didn't fit well into the door frame. We had to slam it each time we wanted to close it. Apparently everyone else had the same issue because we heard quite a few door slams early in the morning (not something fun to wake up hearing). Oddly enough the bathroom door seemed to weigh 500 lbs and required some force to actually close it.

- The decor of the hallways and room seemed a bit ... cheap. There was molding that was loose and coming off the walls in the hallways. The duvet was very thin except for the random bubbles of cotton.

- The beds appeared to be a hybrid between a twin and double bed. We were told there were two double beds in the room, but these were definitely a lot smaller than a double, but just wider than a twin. Quite odd. The pillows were also very small. I'm not sure if they were just folded up in a strange fashion into the pillow case or what, but these were minature in comparison to a standard size hotel pillow.

Overall:
It wasn't bad since we were only staying for one night, and the cleanliness definitely helped make it a more comfortable stay. There is a Holiday Inn next door, which isn't as new or updated as this hotel; however, we will most likely stay there the next time we are in town just because their beds are a bigger size than the Hampton Inn and much more comfortable.

Room Tip: If there will be more than two people in the room, consider getting another room so you aren't c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

3.5. Not a destination spot per se, but this is a clean, nicely appointed Hampton Inn with a very helpful staff and an above average breakfast. Had to stop in the middle of a road trip, in the middle of the night, and was very grateful to find this place that also took our little furry one. A good value for what it offers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We like Hampton Inn, and this one was outstanding. The staff could not have been more helpful. Their concern was noticeable even to some relatives who came to meet us in the lobby! Thank you all!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Hampton Inn, Swedesboro, has opened it's doors to Agility exhibitors for the Gloucester County Dream Park trials, and it is truly a God send. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious with fridges and mw's. The staff go out of their way to accomodate guests, and the breakfasts are wonderful. The woman who makes/serves breakfast is incredibly upbeat and accommodating for 6:00am! As always, we take extra care to use our own sheets on the furniture so our dogs do not soil anything and always bring towels to wipe wet feet. The grounds are lovely. Lots of good restaurants within minutes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treeturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakehurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Like Hampton Inn's because one can usually count on the quality and cleanliness... disappointed this time. Called earlier in the day on the day of our arrival to notify them we'd be checking in late that evening and to ensure the handicapped accessible room we'd requested would be available. After some confusion regarding an accessible room with the number of beds we needed (2) not even existing at that hotel we said we'd take the accessible room with one bed and a sleeper sofa and were assured we'd get that room no problem. When we arrived later that evening we were informed that due to an "emergency" because of the recent flooding in the area all the accessible rooms were taken and we wouldn't be getting the room they promised us earlier in the day, however, they were giving us a suite for the same price. We were tired, it was late, so we accepted. We went up to the room and neither key worked. So we went back down to the desk and ran into the desk clerk on the way who as bringing us up towels (which I thought odd since we didn't ask for extra towels) She let us in and we sat for a few minutes in the living room area while we called home. When I went in the bathroom a few minutes later I found used soap and shampoo in the shower and a used towel as well. Then in the bedroom area neither bed had the customary duvet... just blankets and the one blanket had holes in it! The beds were definitely not made up properly nor up to Hampton Inn standards. I phoned the front desk and asked if the room had actually been cleaned and the clerk (a different one from the one who checked us in) said "I sure hope so." I explained the conditions we'd found and she offered to move us to the adjoining room. At this point it was after 11:00 pm we'd already changed into pajamas and I asked if she'd just send up a new blanket to replace the one in with holes. She said she would and also said she'd remove the charge for that night. She brought up a duvet and more towels and again assured us she'd remove the charge for the room. After she left we then discovered a large wet area on the rug in the bedroom area. Definitely the most disappointing stay I've ever experienced at a Hampton Inn property.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-way-2-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had a very comfortable mattress, the room was clean, and the parking was close to the door. The morning free breakfast included, waffles and syrup, freshly made egg and cheese omelettes, many flavors of yogurt, fresh oranges, multiple kinds of toast, bagels, and biscuits, fresh danish, coffee, juices, cereals, etc.

The shower was nice and strong and there was plenty of hot water. The room included an ironing board, hair dryer, all kinds of little bottles of stuff. There was also a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

For $139, there was nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshuaMConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swedesboro
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Swedesboro Philadelphia
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia South-Swedesboro
9.2 mi away
Super 8 Pennsville/Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Philadelphia South - West Deptford Inn
10.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carneys Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport
Address: 2 Pureland Dr, Swedesboro, NJ 08085-1762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Swedesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swedesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport is conveniently located just minutes from the Pureland Office Complex in Swedesboro, NJ. Our hotel provides every guest with a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), a free hot breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Explore many historic Swedesboro area attractions, which are steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Bridgeport Hotel Swedesboro
Hampton Inn Swedesboro
Swedesboro Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing