We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best stay I've experienced...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swedesboro
Lakehurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not the best stay I've experienced...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Like Hampton Inn's because one can usually count on the quality and cleanliness... disappointed this time. Called earlier in the day on the day of our arrival to notify them we'd be checking in late that evening and to ensure the handicapped accessible room we'd requested would be available. After some confusion regarding an accessible room with the number of beds we needed (2) not even existing at that hotel we said we'd take the accessible room with one bed and a sleeper sofa and were assured we'd get that room no problem. When we arrived later that evening we were informed that due to an "emergency" because of the recent flooding in the area all the accessible rooms were taken and we wouldn't be getting the room they promised us earlier in the day, however, they were giving us a suite for the same price. We were tired, it was late, so we accepted. We went up to the room and neither key worked. So we went back down to the desk and ran into the desk clerk on the way who as bringing us up towels (which I thought odd since we didn't ask for extra towels) She let us in and we sat for a few minutes in the living room area while we called home. When I went in the bathroom a few minutes later I found used soap and shampoo in the shower and a used towel as well. Then in the bedroom area neither bed had the customary duvet... just blankets and the one blanket had holes in it! The beds were definitely not made up properly nor up to Hampton Inn standards. I phoned the front desk and asked if the room had actually been cleaned and the clerk (a different one from the one who checked us in) said "I sure hope so." I explained the conditions we'd found and she offered to move us to the adjoining room. At this point it was after 11:00 pm we'd already changed into pajamas and I asked if she'd just send up a new blanket to replace the one in with holes. She said she would and also said she'd remove the charge for that night. She brought up a duvet and more towels and again assured us she'd remove the charge for the room. After she left we then discovered a large wet area on the rug in the bedroom area. Definitely the most disappointing stay I've ever experienced at a Hampton Inn property.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the-way-2-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    88
    42
    16
    5
See reviews for
85
57
18
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had a very comfortable mattress, the room was clean, and the parking was close to the door. The morning free breakfast included, waffles and syrup, freshly made egg and cheese omelettes, many flavors of yogurt, fresh oranges, multiple kinds of toast, bagels, and biscuits, fresh danish, coffee, juices, cereals, etc.

The shower was nice and strong and there was plenty of hot water. The room included an ironing board, hair dryer, all kinds of little bottles of stuff. There was also a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

For $139, there was nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshuaMConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We had a one night stay, a stop on the way to NYC. The location is right off the NJ turnpike, which makes it very convenient. It was close enough to Philly, that we were able to go into the city and grab some Philly Steaks prior to check-in...only about 25 min drive...

Check-in was smooth, maybe 2 minutes. The room however was showing some signs of wear...not the cleanest place, but clean enough. The free breakfast was a plus...as was the price...

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DBCFcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

We arrived at this hotel on Christmas Day, just in time to ride out the big blizzard. Staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of. The rooms were nice, the free breakfast well stocked. This was a very well run hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_M_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

There were many breakfast choices, eggs, cereal, yogurt, toast, bagels, muffins, fruit and make your own waffles. Hope my husband doesn't expect this when we get home. The free pizza Wed. night was a pleasant surprise. Our room was comfortable and the staff was great, especially the breakfast lady. We hadn't been to the hotel for a few months and she remembered us. I do wish that there were more cable channels, I missed the Housewives of NJ on Bravo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkomadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
275 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Looks like things haven't changed much since a reviewer wrote about the Darwinian breakfast.....and that was in 2008! The room was fine but the breakfast was almost laughable, almost. Actually, it was quite irritating: at 7:30 on Easter morning, DH went to the breakfast area and there were no eggs, just some picked-over once-frozen potato pieces and some greasy bacon. He asked, as did many other guests, about the estimated time of arrival of the eggs. "they're coming" was the answer. At 8:45 I showed up, still no eggs, same lame answer. At 9:15, STILL no eggs had appeared. I think this is their game: keep stalling, hoping people will just eat something else and give up on the hot items. The lady who was supposed to be re-stocking food items kept walking around, chatting, put 4 muffins on the buffet and obviously little else. She kept saying how great the Western eggs were, complete with peppers. (Too bad no one ever got a chance to sample them) If this is their game, Hampton Inn better smarten-up.......other hotels are on their heels, ie the Wingate. Also, 2 towels is just not enough. Put 3 towels in the rooms, will ya?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crickerpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

We enjoyed a three day stay at the Swedesboro/Bridgeport Hampton Inn. Our room, a king suite, was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is 100% smoke free. Wireless internet worked perfectly. The complimentary breakfast had all the usual suspects ... sausage patties one morning and bacon another, biscuits, pastry, eggs, cereal, muffins, fruit, juice, tea, coffee.

Our bathroom was roomy. Bedroom has a large double closet, flat-screen tv, and the usual soft-as-a-cloud wonderful Hampton Inn bed. Since HI started using the white washable comforters, I've really liked the cleanliness of the bedding. This time, I noticed that the tags on the pillows were a bit mashed, so it was obvious that even the pillows get laundered regularly. How great is that?

If you're considering a suite, the living room had an "overstuffed" chair with ottoman, and a couch which I believe is a sofa-bed (because it was a little firm to sit on). Also a coffeetable, large flat-screen tv, and a nice gas fireplace. The kitchen area has a table and chairs, full refrigerator, sink, microwave and dishwasher. Dishes and flatware are provided.

The hotel sits on a large property, so the nearby businesses are not right outside your window. A WaWa convenience store and gas station is next door. Also a block away are a McDonalds and Dunkin Donuts. Various shops, a Pizza place, a Chinese restaurant and an Acme are two blocks away. Plenty of good places to eat in nearly Swedesboro, and lots of antique shopping in Mullica Hill down the road a few miles.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swedesboro
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Swedesboro Philadelphia
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia South-Swedesboro
9.1 mi away
Super 8 Pennsville/Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Pennsville
Hampton Inn Pennsville
#2 of 4 in Pennsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carneys Point
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Philadelphia South - West Deptford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport
Address: 2 Pureland Drive, Swedesboro, NJ 08085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Swedesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swedesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport is conveniently located just minutes from the Pureland Office Complex in Swedesboro, NJ. Our hotel provides every guest with a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), a free hot breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Explore many historic Swedesboro area attractions, which are steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Bridgeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Bridgeport Hotel Swedesboro
Hampton Inn Swedesboro
Swedesboro Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing