We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting selection....and 25 cent coffee?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holland American Bakery

Holland American Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Sussex
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
sparta, nj
Level Contributor
543 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Interesting selection....and 25 cent coffee?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Despite the intriguing sign for 25 cent coffee I didn't have any but I did try a couple pastries. Kringle- something, shaped like a star with large sugar crystals. And a few cookies. They were tasty and very flaky but not sure they were made with butter, maybe shortening? Neat place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
260 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“So glad we discovered it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have driven down this highway a few times but were always distracted by looking at Diary Queen. We did it again but just went around the drive through and then noticed the bakery. We immediately crossed the road to the bakery. Heaven!!!! We bought about 6 different pastries, breads etc. Everything freshly baked. Great family run business. 25c for cup of coffee. Kids enjoyed it and so did we. I can't wait for us to go for a Sunday drive just to stop at the bakery. Great Delft products for sale in the inside too. There is some outside seating where you can enjoy your tasty treats.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GregLynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a true old fashioned bakery with "from scratch" goodies. The breads, cakes, donuts, and Dutch items are all wonderful. My family has many favorites, and we go there often. I highly recommend this bakery.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardyston Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not many left”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Bakery business has gone. However this one still goes. I remember as a kid driving from Warwick NY to come and get stuff here. Love the breads and cookies. It is a family run business. Great sweets and nice people.

Helpful?
2 Thank gammie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anghiari, Italy
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Throwback bakeries rock!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place brings me back to the time when I was a child and baked goods came from a bakery and not a supermarket. Hard to beat 25 cent coffee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ut_Amen_Et-Foveam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holland American Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Holland American Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing