We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wedding for our daughter”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Our only daughter was married at The Grand Summit Hotel last week. It was truely a magnificent wedding. Everything was perfect just as we knew it would be. The cocktail hour was spectacular and dinner was just as good. The staff could not do enough for us to make the evening memorable. We had many guests stay at the hotel and everyone was very pleased with their beautiful,newly decorated rooms. The complimentary breakfast the next morning was an added bonus. Thank -you to the entire staff at The Grand Summit Hotel and especially to Jimmy for helping to make my daughter's wedding absolutely wonderful. It was a wedding everyone will be talking about for a long time. I can't believe it's over!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank momme425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 498 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2007

This is a 2 star hotel for a 4 star price. The rooms are badly in need of renovation, especially the bathrooms. The staff is in need of training. It feels like they are "playing" hotel. I was not impressed with the overall cleanliness of the hotel, including the room. This place is living off a reputation established long ago but no longer is deserved. Sometimes there is a fine line between historic and just plain old. The attention to detail and ambiance necessary to pull off historic is lacking and the summit is turning into a dirty old hotel

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ilikehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

When we first arrived at the hotel, I felt a bit reluctant because the place is older (my husband made the reservations), but my opinion changed very quickly! The place is nicely appointed, very clean, the service excellent, and the food top notch. As New Yorkers, we tend to view our accommodations with a critical eye; however, everything was great. The folks there deserve to be commended! When we travel to that area in the future, The Grand Summit will be our first and only choice!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taymarjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

The Manager went beyond expectations by making restaurant reservations for us at the last minute. Because the hotel van was delayed, he even took us there himself! This was in spite of three wedding receptions and a class reunion at the hotel the same weekend. Great service.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Just had an extended stay at the Grand Summit...and had a wonderful experience. Its an old classic warm hotel -- a perfect alternative to the sterile big chains. The Grand Summit is old -- but the charm is definitely there. In someways...its a walk back in time.

We were especially charmed by the staff members, who were always accomodating and cheerful. (and in one case went WAY out of the way for a sick guest!)

If you're looking for an old "grand" style hotel -- for a reasonable price -- the Grand Summit is a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BigBluMarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

I had my wedding reception at the Grand Summit Hotel in October 2005. Teresa, our catering manager, was great. She was very helpful with every detail of our big day. The room we were given was an executive suite. The room was extremely clean, very big with a huge bathroom. This hotel is a perfect location for a wedding reception or even just for a business trip. Everyone is very friendly and helpful with anything you may need I would highly recommend!

Stayed: October 2005
1  Thank kb1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Unfriendly, inflexible people operating a dated property. What more could you want? I will never book/stay here again. I'll sleep in the park first.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Schmengy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,114 reviews
6 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#2 of 5 in Morristown
850 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
650 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
5.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Location: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Price Range: $158 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing