We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy, great experience!”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Visited the Grand Summit Hotel on a business trip in Summit NJ. My first impression when I heard the hotel we were staying in was founded in 1868 was a little concerning. On arrival, I was very pleasantly surprised! The group I was traveling with was on a 4 night banquet event and we are all in the travel and hospitality industry.

The rooms were very comfortable, on the small side by modern hotel standards, but very nice. The room was clean and comfortable, the cleanliness was not perfect, but I felt comfortable the room was clean. I did find a dry cleaning tag from the previous occupant of the room in the closet, but I found everything else (the important areas) to be very clean.

The banquet staff was exceptional, our banquet manager was Kathy Obropta, her and her staff were excellent to work with! The food was very good, and all of our guests were extremely happy with the food and service.

The "Hat Tavern" is the onsite restaurant and bar, food was also very good and reasonably priced. It's a warm and comfortable tavern with a friendly and attentive staff with a nice atmosphere. It does close most nights at 11:30pm which I felt was early for a bar but common for a hotel bar.

The air conditioning in my room (#412) didn't work right when I checked in. Within an hour of reporting the issue to the front desk, maintenance had replaced the entire AC unit with a brand new unit and the front desk followed up to ensure my satisfaction with the service. The staff went above and beyond to make sure I was satisfied with everything and handled the issue perfectly.

Some minor issues that could be addressed to bring the hotel to a perfect rating would be to improve the Wifi signal in the rooms. I was able to connect, but the signal strength was weak in my room. Wifi in the banquet area and lobby was exceptional.

Another thing I would like to see is some curved shower rods for the shower.

We are already planning a return trip to this property, it was one of the best locations we have visited and worked at in this area.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2014

Dear Doug,

Thank you so much for taking the time to pen us such a great review of your stay with us. we work very hard to provide the type of experience you describe here, and when it is recognized it means a lot to us.

I will be sure to share all of your wonderful and constructive customers with our team, and we look forward to hosting you again soon when you return to the area.

Thank you very much for your business.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 492 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

This could be a grand, boutique hotel, but it's missing the mark.

Having stayed 4 nights, we had the opportunity to encounter or observe a vast majority of the staff and, with the exception of 2 dining room staff members, would say this is where one of the major problems lies.

The front desk staff operate like the key stone cops. We were never greeted when passing, no smiles, no offer of assistance, questions about our stay, nothing.....

We passed many staff in the hallways, not one said hello/good morning, nothing....

We observed a manager speaking with one of the 2 excellent dining room staff, and she seemed to simply dismiss the conversation and walk away.

The room was shabby and smelled of cigarettes and moldy.

This could be a wonderful hotel, but it definitely needs some investment in customer service for its staff. The hotel also needs to invest some cash and update the rooms and facilities. It really could be a "grand" hotel.

Room Tip: Supposedly we were in a renovated room (one that faced the pool). Would hate to see the unrenovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear TravelBugMissis,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to hear of the impression we left for you regarding the service exchanges you had with our staff.

We work very hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests and take pride in engaging with our guests during their stay with us. We are very disappointed to hear that we failed to do so during your stay and you can be sure that your comments have been shared with our team.

We thank you for your business and look forward to the opportunity to host you again when your travel takes you to our area again.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My daughter got married on June 28, 2014 and her reception was at the Grand Summit Hotel. Everything was absolutely perfect from beginning to end! The dining room was beautiful, the coctail hour was outstanding and the food was probably the best I have ever had at a wedding! The staff, from Jimmy Thornton who oversaw every detail, to Cathy who orchestrared the entire evening, to the wait staff.....the service was 5 star! Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and our guests who stayed there (32 rooms) had nothing but positive things to say about the wedding. My only negative was that the time passed so quickly....thank you Jimmy and all the staff who made our daughter's day one we will never forget! Eileen Roberti

Room Tip: Beautiful, quaint, comfortable rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caviler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Cavalir_13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your friends and family, and we are delighted to hear that we made your daughter's wedding day a day you will never forget.

We have a long history of hosting elegant weddings, and it always means a lot to us when we receive such glowing reviews as the one you have provided.

We thank you again for selecting The Grand Summit Hotel as the host for your daughter's wedding, and look forward to the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This appears to be a quaint old hotel, but it really is just a run down place. The heating/ ac unit in the room would be found in a cheap motel. The toilet faces the bed, the bed spread, towels are funky. The moldy smell in the room is nasty. I would not recommend this hotel, you can do better.

Room Tip: Find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank doryellen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Doryellen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide you with a review of your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to hear of your experience with us and welcome the chance to host you again so that we may demonstrate the quality of product we strive to produce for all of our guests.

I welcome the chance to speak with you personally to better understand the room that you stayed in so that we may take corrective action to the items you mention in your review.

We always welcome such feedback from our guests while they are staying with us, as we like to respond immediately to guest feedback and create a comfortable experience while you are here. We would have been more than happy to get you to a room where you would be comfortable.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Summit in late March, 2014. i was there for my aunt's funeral and the staff couldn't have been kinder. My late aunt had arranged a post-funeral luncheon for family and friends and it was delicious, particularly the desserts. The complimentary breakfast is excellent with something for every taste. The restaurant/bar also makes good soup. I found the room comfortable with good WiFi. Again, the staff is marvelous and I think they are what makes this hotel grand.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Catherine,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. While it sounds like you were visiting us under difficult circumstances, we were excited to hear that we were able to add some comfort to your time in the area.

We hope that we will have the chance to host you again when you return to the area to visit friends and family in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for three nights for a family event. It's a quaint old hotel in need of updating. I would not refer to it as grand at all. The staff is accommodating, breakfast was good and the beds were comfortable. The furniture is just very worn looking. Towels are rough and scratchy and the elevator is filthy.. With some tlc this hotel could return to the grand status in its name but right now, not so much! The Hat Tavern was excellent. BTW a $9.50 per night fee for parking is added to the bill!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glynis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Glynis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to hear of your impression of the hotel, and welcome the opportunity to show you some of our current renovations that are taking place at the hotel.

While many of our hotel guests love the stately feel of the main building, we have an entire section of the property along the pool where rooms have been completely renovated. I believe you will find these rooms more to your liking and welcome the chance to show them to you.

In addition to a brand new restaurant, we will be completely renovating our Grand Ballroom to transform it into one of the area's most sought after spaces for social events and corporate meetings. We just renovated two of our most iconic function spaces and added all new conference chairs and tables.

We look forward to the opportunity to show you first hand all that we are undertaking.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed our extended weekend stay at the Grand Summit Hotel. The Hotel is in close proximity to the train station so getting into Manhatton to see the city was a breeze. Excellent complimentary breakfast to start your day and free shuttle service to the train station. The town of Summit is also quite beatiful and quiet. The hotel is older but very well kept and the staff is outstanding. I highly recommend the Grand Summit.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in the quiet town of Summit. A great place to get a sound sleep after a long da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Lloyd C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a great review of your experience at The Grand Summit Hotel. We work very hard to provide all of our guests with the type of experience you describe here, and when it is recognized it means a lot to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the great town of Summit when your leisure or business takes you to our area again.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,071 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#1 of 1 in Springfield
93 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
6.0 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
824 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Price Range: $169 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing